Friends or Foes?

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

a.jpg

Anyone who'd like to attract any kind of pollinators would opt for having a carnation in their garden. They're very easy to grow and they're self sowing. You can just throw the seeds on a spot, wait for it to germinate and do nothing, it rains enough here .. no, more than enough so you won't even have to water it and no matter how hard the winter seems, it'll just rise and sprout out like a phoenix.

d2.jpg

They're one of the seeds I got for free and since they just looked like these, I just threw them on one spot, curiously watched them sprout and wondered what sort of flower would they give me.

It wasn't a short wait because I threw them pretty late so it took them to wait till the next year for the right time to bloom. When they did, they exploded in tones of pink and red.

I would catch bumblebees, hover flies and a few butterflies on them but mostly hover flies. I planted plenty around the strawberry green house just to lure the pollinators in. They've never failed me year after year. I saw a whole bed of them explode with flowers in June and I fell in love with how pretty the bunch of flowers looked like together.

b.jpg

My OC struck so last year, I sorted them according to flower colors and trust me, it wasn't an easy job but thanks for the boxes. I intended to also plant them in rows but then according to the petal designs and color. I patiently collected and sorted those seeds with the plan to do just that. Guess what, I've changed my mind and have sown them in a mix.

d1.png

Did I just waste my own effort of collecting the seeds and sorting them last year ? Not really, I think its going to be more fun in a mix than in a mono mode (we'll see in June .. they're not in bloom yet ..).

It's like... you wish it would be just whales or dolphins that would cast upvotes to your posts and you'd just have to deal with those more often? You'd earn more that way and you'd just hang out with the rich list, you won't have to worry about returning ups to the minnows and sleep well even when they cast you 100% of their precious upvotes cause the rich list would take care of you.

c.jpg

I don't know why but I sort of had that thought when I was sowing those seeds and thought .. I like it , yes I did because It looks easy, I'd only be dealing with a few and some are already doing that .. but .. what a small world that would be, too. I'd probably get bored specially when there's nothing new. It would be like eating rice with just soy sauce and oil because each person has the same posting style .. you'll get tired of it. I'm not called a social butterfly for nothing .. I easily tire seeing things that are the same more so reading them. How about you?

d.jpg

It would look more organized though... which am a fan of. Comfortable, easy and surely a lot easier to reap your seed year after year and would also be a lot easier sorting them in their boxes. So, should I regret sowing them in different sorts?

Truth is, those seeds stick on the box and on your fingers, too so you'd probably still find one or two of a bunch of flower with a different petal color and design when they bloom. As you know, I also love that of which is out of the box .. different and those that would have escaped my OC while sowing would just stand out. I won't be able to help but notice them more.

d4.jpg

No, I can't undo it anymore ... unfortunately not so I'd have to just enjoy what's to come. Here, of course... I can always undo it. I just don't want to .. wait, I thought this is a gardening post you asked? It is .. just that .. those thoughts ...

d8.jpg

Anyway, every spring I noticed that part of its sprouts get all chewed up. No signs of a cute crawling chewing champions but nothing escapes a very curious cat. I found all of them hanging out under the bottom leaves and some on the stem but almost close to the ground.

At first, I thought they were just hiding from the birds, till I placed them on the table all curled up. They popped open and started crawling as if they were in a hurry to get off it. One peed and another one pooped.

I realized, it must be the sunlight.

Today, is specially sunny and really warm I felt my face a bit scorched from staying in the greenhouse checking out on the strawberry blooms.

I picked them up carefully and put them back under the leaves.

They slowed back down there so it must be the sun.

I suppose these would be moths. Unless a butterfly is born this way, "vampire - ish", afraid of the daylight. There were at least 5 of them but I couldn't keep one from crawling so I let it be.

d6.jpg

Am not really worried whether these are friends or foes, they're allowed to chew on as much leaves as they want as long as they don't chew on my fruiting trees' leaves. The green aphids are already doing just that on my plum trees. I guess I spoke too early writing about their suppliers' absence.

d7.jpg

Am not worried though .., it's more of I'm curious .. what these guys are going to be like? No, I don't intend to find out the way I did with Yellow, it's warm now ..

I'll let nature take its course for them. I just hope these guys don't turn out to be foes once they've morphed.

d3.jpg

This content's 100% mine . I took the pics with my smartphones.. Practicing ORGANIC GARDENING? Join us in the chat.



**TIP :
ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below to earn yourself curation rewards.



a2b.jpg

Sort:  

Natural friends these are time to say hi to them :D

Carnations and Caterpillars! What a mix. I will have to plant some of the former. It's only just getting warm here and it's still kinda cold!

aw chico
nice to see you around
sorry for the late reply
was busy multitasking

we're on shirt and shorts mode these days
20 - 22 degrees! hopefully it stays as so

it's warm ^ ^

Many skirts, aye.

Hello THIS PICTURE IS BEAUTIFUL... Greetings

The carnations are beautiful. The caterpillars, not so much but they are part of the ecosphere. Let us know if they are friend or foe.

I have planted a number of butterfly bushes. They bring a lot of flying friends - from late spring thru the summer. Maybe too late for pollinating but they are easy to grow and easy to take care of. And the deer don't eat them which is important for where I am.

thank you
I can't do that .. they fly away once they're done being a pupa :D

you should start posting about your garden, too
try it and tell us just anything about it
and take pics
nothing more nothing less

OK. Will do. I already have some which I've been waiting to get a block of time free to post.

Carnation. You planning for Mother's Day already.

no ...
you know me Mama's already went to her deep slumber
and am far away ..
better give flowers to those who are alive :D
the sleeping ones won't be able to smell it anymore

oh i see. good to live and feel.

Such a nice flowers

WOW WOW!! The first one is very very.. BEAUTIFUL! I love it

It seems like there is a lot to do now in Spring, your garden and greenhouse must take you a lot of time. But been busy with gardening is really enjoyable and you can see the results of your hard work later. I was glad to hear your thoughts about the stuff how it is in steemit, that means both you gardening and Steemit community are important for you. I wanted to tell I like how you treat your followers and how you thoroughly read and answer comments, it feels like there is someone who is really showing the same interest to others and treats other how you want to be treated. I am curious about the butterflies that these little caterpillars going to turn into. Do you know what they will be?

yes, my hands are full on a daily basis
but its alright .. I was almost dead bored in winter and early spring

thanks ... yes they both matter
these days, it's hard to reply on everybody
when I was sick, I just posted I didn't bother to reply
plus there's so many empty comments and spams
so sometimes we just literally post and run, I do, too :D

I have no idea
am thinking they're moths
cause I saw them there even in late winter

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.

And what a post......lovely photographs and reporting.

Those carnations are cheery are they not?

Have you seen a green coloured one?

Happy Gardening mon ami.....

A bientot. xox

thanks a lot

yes they were ^ ^

I have seen the green ones in the flower store
I want one ^ ^
I have plenty of seeds and no more soil to spread them, too haha

I had a great one this weekend!
weather was so damn great I finally finished the tasks in my backyard
that's as far as I could go for now

in a few days, hopefully I'd be able to go back to my veggie garden :D

xox!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 14:18:38
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 110.10/200.00
Total Photos: 16
Total comments: 29
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.14 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61209.23
ETH 2940.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73