You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Getting ready to plant potatoes! And some thoughts on true potato seeds.

in #gardening5 years ago

You have some valid points there. We always plant potatoes, never seeds. It works for us, although we only plant a small quantity.
Can you please tell me why are those potatoes on the right cut in half? Are you planting them cut as they are on the photo?

Sort:  

The potatoes are cut to get more planting stock from some of the larger potatoes. They say at least 2-3 eyes on each piece is a good minimum. After they are cut you can let them heal for a day or two so that they are not planted wet. This is said to reduce chance of disease/rot but some people say it doesn't matter if they are healed before they are planted or not. I tend to think it doesn't matter too much if the soil isn't too soggy and it is healthy soil.

This is interesting. I've never seen it before but I have to try it out. We usually keep the small potatoes for planting and eat the rest but of course, this is a practical solution.
Thank you for explaining this to me and have a nice weekend!

We usually keep the small potatoes for planting and eat the rest but of course, this is a practical solution.

I really like that! It makes a lot of sense! I wonder if the smaller potatoes also store better.

I just planted Purple Peruvian potatoes today and most of them are pretty small so I didn't bother cutting any of them.

Actually, we select them when harvesting. The small ones go separately and put aside for seeds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57440.51
ETH 2911.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66