Saving some plantssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening5 years ago

I have some plants on my balcony (and at home too) that I grew from a cutting received from friends, or some that I simply found in the garden center floor, or after someone was trimming their plant and didn't want the bits and pieces.

Pelargonia dark purple macro.jpg

I never thought that it will be so easy to grow a whole new Pelargonium plant from just a little piece of stem. I did that with this one. Of course I don't know it's full name, neither did I know what colour it will be.
It was nice surprise to see the huge, and I mean really huge for a pelargonium flowers in this lovely, plum colour.

Pelargonia dark purple 2.jpg

Here is a super quick guide how to do it:

  • find a piece of Pelargnium stem, or ask a friend to give you one. It needs to have at least two "eyes" where the heaves grow from
  • take it home, cut the bottom about 1 cm under the lower leaves, remove the heaves.
  • take a cup or small pot filled with compost
  • stick the stem so that the lower part where the leaves grew are covered with soil.
  • make sure that there is another little joint above the soil,
  • water well and keep moist until it starts growing
  • keep in bright spot, but avoid direct sun until it starts growing
  • after few weeks enjoy a new plant :)

Pelargonia dark purple 1.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
(ƒ/7.1, 1/500, ISO100)
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

REGISTRATION | UPVOTE VALUES | NEW MEMBERS BONUS

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

This post had received 5.00% upvote from @steemitportugal account!
Vote for @steemitportugal to Witness. Your vote is very important to us!
Visit our WebSite www.steemitportugal.com (tutorials,news...)
Thank you very much.
Click here to vote
steemitportugal
Delegation for daily voting: 10SP-25SP-50SP-100SP-250SP-500SP-1000SP

Pelargoniums are really easy

They are! I was surprised how easy.

Such a vibrant color. And that macro stigma? Wow.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love that colour! I have seen pelargonium like this yet :) My little gem.

beautiful and grateful flower :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85