200 Walla Walla Sweet Onion starts in ground

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

I can't wait to eat one like an apple!


I had these 2 bunches of Walla Walla onion starts that I had purchased a few weeks ago. They ended up getting forgotten about in a box under a few things until yesterday when my brain popped onto the memory of their existence. Fortunately my planting progress has been slow enough that I have a few unfilled rows. This worked out nicely since the cool garden rows are 15 feet long, each bunch of onions perfectly filled the row.

Locati Farms in Walla Walla supplies the onions to stores where I paid $1.99 per bunch, which is an incredible price. The bags of yellow, red, or white sets are the same price but I feel like the starts give better results than the sets do with larger onions sooner.

Since the onions had been in the box for a while the roots were awfully dry and desiccated feeling. I set both the bunches in some water in the sink for a couple of hours before planting in hopes of the roots reawakening. It did help them to re-hydrate a bit before I planted so I have high hopes for them.

IMG_20180508_171627367.jpg

My cool garden is now turning into my permanent herb and asparagus garden. The rows are a good size to have a few split up into zones that will be different herbs. These 2 rows of onions sit next to the chives row. In the next rows I will be planting the various herbs, cilantro, thyme, oregano, dill, parsley, and a few others.

The 2 rows of Walla Walla are spaced just right to be able to walk between them and the onions spaced at 3-5" should produced quality sized onions. Last year the Walla Wallas did pretty well but they were in a row with Leeks so they had to share water. This year they have their own water all to themselves.

IMG_20180508_184220290.jpg

Growing up I used to see Walla Walla onions all the time for sale in the stores and after many years I found out Walla Walla is in Washington state. These sweet onions are the only ones I would eat until well into my teen years when my tastes finally changed. Now I live in the same state as the name sake, but I also grew up just north of Fresno where they have the namesake Fresno Chile Pepper.

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

AND/OR

See me on SOLA & signup with this link https://sola.ai/r/ZDVIZG

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, & following!

Sort:  

Walla Walla the place so nice they named it twice 😜 I’m a little biased, maybe since I live there, but they make the best onion rings and burger toppers. I haven’t quite came around to eating them like an apple but maybe I will give it a try sometime.

Hard not to be biased for home! Walla Wallas really are one of the sweetest onions, so if you were gonna try a bite, they are the ones. I have met a few people in my life that eat any onion like an apple...

Kinda like people who just throw down cloves of garlic. 😳😳

(you hear an engine rev and horn honk)
MEEP! MEEP!
(the window on the humvee rolls down to reveal a warm smiling face)
"Hello! I'm @shadow3scalpel and with the help of my protege, @chairborne, we are actively assisting veterans, retirees and active servicemen and women here on Steemit. We feel it is our 'duty' to support each other. Any questions or comments you may have, simply respond to this comment, thank you!"
(the window rolls up and the engine roars as it drives to the next person on the list)
Comment by @killerwhale. This is a opt-in bot.

very nice post, I really like, hopefully more successful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60870.66
ETH 2917.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62