You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Humongous Fungus: Wild Utah Fungus Species!

in #gardening6 years ago

Awesome post! I always love learning more about fungi and always am fascinated by them on our hikes. So far, I've only been comfortable harvesting chicken of the woods and morels since they are so easy to identify without many dangerous lookalikes. Where did you learn to identify the species? Books? friends? I'd love any recommendations. Cheers!

Sort:  

Thanks man! Those are some great species! I'd love to find some morels here in Utah but they're hard to track down. My main Identification book is Mushrooms Demystified, and I use the pocket guide too called All That the Rain Promises and More. I think it's the best one out there but the National Audubon Society Field Guide for North American Mushrooms is great as well. It helps a lot to know the different branches of mushroom species. If you want to discover as many new species as possible safely, you can join your local mushroom society!

Also feel free to comment with pictures if you'd like help identifying them

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68548.71
ETH 3847.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73