2018 Garden - My 1st Ever Flower Bed

in #gardening6 years ago

Gardening is in my Genes

My Grandfather (Grampa Gene) was born in 1895 and I spent a great deal of time with him on the family farm in Western NY State when I was a child. Having a small vegetable garden in the back yard was common even if you had large crop fields. My Dad, born in 1937, always made sure I was helping in our garden and was taught a lot but nothing to do with an organic method which I have adapted to over the years. The very first thing I can remember planting on my own was a Lima Bean plant when I was around 6 years old in 1975.

If I am living somewhere with a yard there will be some sort of vegetables growing in it. Enough for me and some to share with friends & neighbors. This year is no exception and I will post some pics of my main vegetable garden as it grows in more as we move toward summer. I don't normally plant salad greens in the spring as they tend to just seed out very quickly so I just focused on different varieties of summer squash, tomatoes and a multitude of peppers in the main garden.

I had some pots and a huge mound of organic compost in the field so I decided to plant 3 different types of Kale; green, red & blue from seed. As you can see from the image below I was not able to stop at the 3 pots and it ultimately ended up becoming my first ever vegetable/flower bed located right out my back door. The Moonflower vine on the corner should be quite amazing by the end of summer so please follow if you want to see how this progresses.

DSCN2839.JPG

I will be adding in more photographs in the future but wanted to share a few of the ones I took this morning before I head off to work.

DSCN3542.JPG

DSCN3282.JPG

DSCN3286.JPG

DSCN3285.JPG

DSCN3288.JPG

Here is a bonus photograph and I will give 1SBD to whoever is the first one to guess what type of plant this blossom is from. I will be doing more random photo mini contests as well throughout 2018 so again please follow so you don't miss out on anything!
DSCN2877.JPG

Thanks for stopping by,

FBFlogo1.6.png

Sort:  

Very nice. Watching something grow must be a satisfying thing to do. I might follow your lead and plant something myself. Maybe something I could smoke...

What could you POSSIBLY be talking about? I can dry out a Carolina Reaper and mail that too you. It'll cure ya or kill ya-

high emoji.png

LOL. I'm a heavy smoker for 40 years now. I smoke ANYTHING if I run out of stuff. Even toe-nails :)

I am sorry, that is incorrect

My guess is apple blossom

You have guessed incorrectly I am sorry

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87