Peppers, Peppers and More Peppers!

in #gardening6 years ago

All the time I have been spending on the greenhouse business I have sadly been neglecting my tiny vegetable garden that I put in the last weekend of April. I spent almost the whole day getting it weeded and pruned up nice and it is really putting out some good produce. Should have a progress report tomorrow evening on the Hügelkultur Greenhouse so please check back soon.

I wanted to take some time to show off my pepper wonderland really fast and I hope you enjoy. @papa-pepper would be proud.


This is the tallest pepper plant I have ever grown and the first time I have ever grown this Asian Thai pepper called a Gong Bao. It is almost 48 inches high and doesn't show signs of stopping. I had one start turning red but started rotting so I pulled it. I can't just the heat/taste level on that one but it is loaded so will find out in a few weeks.
DSCN3813.JPG
DSCN3812.JPG


This is one I grow every year but have never had one this prolific. It is an Asian Dragon pepper and it will flipping LIGHT YOU UP!!! I bet there is close to 200 peppers on this plant, maybe more.
DSCN3817.JPG


Love these Anaheim peppers early, before they turn fully red. These are taking a while to get to that point but now have a very mild flavor until you get down to the seeds.
DSCN3815.JPG
DSCN3818.JPG


Classic Habanero pepper. Always one of these in my garden and that perfect pepper for I want it hot but not insane. I have picked two so far and they are the biggest I have ever grown before.
DSCN3823.JPG
DSCN3822.JPG


My favorite snap of the plant and eat pepper. Hot Banana!
DSCN3808.JPG


After that I have Serrano, Jalapeno, Cherry Hot, Carolina Reaper and a mislabeled pepper that I cannot yet figure out what it is but very possible it's just a simple chili pepper.

DSCN3819.JPG

DSCN3810.JPG

DSCN3827.JPG

Sorry it's sideways. This is the Carolina but it got hit bad with frost and has struggled but I gave it a chance. Some blooms on it but has yet to produce any fruit so we'll just let it keep trying.
DSCN3824.JPG

I had 3 different plants that I purchased this year end up being the wrong item which pretty much takes that nursery off my list but I have choices in Nashville so will try a new spot that actually starts most of what they sell. I love this pepper but really not sure what it is exactly. Thought I had it to be an Italian Sweet pepper but it says they get 6" long and these only get 4" at best. It's a good sweet pepper, just wish I know what it was so I could get it again.
DSCN3811.JPG


Even though this is a pepper post (say that 10 time fast!) I wanted to show off, I mean show you a couple of my tomatoes. These Sweet 100's are over 7 feet high and just loaded with fruit. I am going to take some cuttings from these for the greenhouse. I actually purposely let some of the suckers grow to keep the height down but I'd bet a dollar these will go 10 feet before fall.
DSCN3825.JPG

DSCN3806.JPG

DSCN3807.JPG

This is called HealthKick. Meh- they're ok on flavor but they are very good producers. They may make a good grafting tomato to try out one day.
DSCN3804.JPG

This is a Jet Star. The plants grow weird and not very tall but wow this is a very flavorful tomato!
DSCN3803.JPG

DSCN3831.JPG

I am headed to a friends 40th Birthday party and I already gave him his present this morning. A Black Diamond watermelon. The one I picked for him was around 25-30 lbs but have a few more getting pretty big. I never grew one before but the tag said they can get between 35-50 lbs.
DSCN3826.JPG

Going to chop these up for my contribution to the dinner.
DSCN3833.JPG

Tonight I think I will have a nice glass of cider, listen to some folk music and chill out in my favorite spot on the property.
DSCN3835.JPG


Go out and be good to someone-

DSCN3800.JPG

FBFlogo1.6.png

Sort:  


Congratulations @freebeerfridays!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The semi-finals are coming. Be ready!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @freebeerfridays! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56