Garden Update - Gardeningchef

in #gardening6 years ago

Hello!

It has been a couple of weeks since my last garden update as I have been waiting to show visible progress, most of which has happened this week.

First off, I planted my Euphya cucumber seedlings in the polytunnel. Thanks to these nifty root trainers I am able to open up the containers to check the roots look happy and healthy before a transplant. The plants are a bit on the small side but the roots look good so I am confident they will thrive in the ground.

GCGU02.jpg

GCGU03.jpg


The Euphyas are growing faster than the other two types, as you can see in the tray.
The Carosello are close behind, and the Lemon have finally started showing in the last couple of days. I will plant the Carosello in the poly and I will try the Lemon both inside and a couple outside in a pot to see whether they might prefer the outdoors over the polytunnel.


GCGU04.jpg

GCGU05.jpg


I learnt from my mistake with the tomato seedling framing and made sure I inserted a frame for the cucumbers BEFORE planting them into the ground this time. These bamboo wigwam frames are much like the ones I made for the tomatoes, I am finding they are useful for all crawling plants. As I knew the cucumbers would need plenty of support I added some extra string to the middle of the frame which should hopefully help them further as they grow up.


GCGU07.jpg


I planted out my rocket as you can see, it is looking happier by the day!


GCGU11.jpg

GCGU08.jpg


The pepper plants are coming along nicely, not much growth in height but I have a beautiful pepper growing! This excitement is what gardening is all about for me. I can't wait to eat it!


GCGU09.jpg

GCGU10.jpg


My tomatoes are growing really well, with more and more bunches of yellow flowers popping up each day. I should be picking some tomatoes any day now, I have a few red ones that are nearly ready!

My other seedlings are doing well, a few more spinach have surfaced and I think I am seeing the start of the parsley popping up too. I will take photos as things become more visible :)

That's all for now! As always please link me to your gardening posts so I can see what you're growing and how your garden is doing!

I hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend :)

Gardeningchef

Sort:  

Wow everything looks really great!!! Those tomatoes are really going for it!! Those root trainers are excellent, I love the way you can open them to check on root growth. This is going to be fun watching the updates as everything progresses. Have a great gardening weekend @gardeningchef!! 💚RESTEEMED

The tomatoes are my fastest growing plant by far!! The plum cherry variety were slower to catch on but now they have they are also producing flowers. Cherry plum tomatoes are my favourite in salads!

It has been raining almost all day today so the garden is very happy. Has saved me the job of watering the trees too! Have a wonderful tropical weekend @sallybeth23!

Thank you for all of your support <3

Glad to hear you have rain, plants much prefer rainwater to any other and yes it saves you an hour in the garden 💚

These look fantastic. Love gardening we did a lot last summer, but I’m no expert. And under limited time this summer so it’s not possible this year for us. But looking forward to your update on your garden!!!!

I am no expert either, I am a first year grower so learning all I can. I hope you can rekindle gardening when you have the time to dedicate to it.

I am pleased you enjoyed the garden update, I shall be posting more soon :)

Fantastic thank you so much hopefully I will find some time I really hope that I do!!!

That looks amazing. I love seeing plants in that dark black soil. I have never heard of euphya cucumbers. Are they good?

Thank you very much @freedompoint.

I agree, the soil makes the plants stand out more! I hadn't grown or tried Euphya before, but my grandmother does. They are like the long, thin ones you can buy at the shop. Not spiky like some varieties can be, the type you'd use in a salad :)

Hi Gardeningchef!
Thank you for the update on your wonderful garden - it is looking so good! I think you will inspire many people to get into growing their own food too - very well done indeed!

Upvoted and resteemed :D

Glad you enjoyed this update @icedrum. I hope I can inspire people to grow at least one plant - their favourite veg - to see how fun and rewarding it can be.

Thanks for your U&R! I hope you are having a great weekend :)

Haii steemit friends thank you for the news and information may be always successful friends in steemit development. For me there is science where every where as long as we are convinced that it is a science of gratitude steemit friend for this very useful information and news

Glad you found my post useful!

beautiful photography friend You have my support. I hope to count on your support to keep growing. regards

Thanks very much :)

nice garden.
I have a garden like you.

Thank you @sarmin42. I hope your garden is doing well :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66