You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Garden Update - Sugar Snap Peas

in #gardening6 years ago

Since last week when I updated on my garden, I've seen some tomatoes on quite a few plants, which is promising. The peppers continue to come in, so that's all good.

So no vegetables really ripe yet for picking, though I think the peppers and onions are very close. The onions more so.

I like snap peas, too. We just didn't grow any. We were talking about pole beans, but I kind of discouraged it because I wasn't sure how we were going to fit them into our existing space and setup. Since then, though I think we could probably manage it, because we do have some room where some raspberries used to be.

I'm just not sure what she has planned for that area. Maybe next year.

Sort:  

That's exciting that things continue to grow. It's fun when they start popping up and you can see the actual fruit/vegetable growing. Then it's not just a plant, it's a future food.

That's nice your peppers are close. We're still a ways away. That's ok, I'll be patient. We still have the green onions from last year, so we're eating those. The ones from this year aren't doing as well. Good thing we have leftovers. They're a little tougher than they were the first year, but they're still tasty.

I'm not a huge fan of pole beans. They're alright, but sugar snap peas are amazing! Maybe you can fit them in next year. Or get more raspberries. Those are delicious.

I'm just not sure what she has planned for that area.

Smart, ask the boss. She'll know what to do.

Well fun, in my case, is relative to the ease of which I can pick it, prepare it and eat it. While I'm just not that much into any of the work part, I do like eating. :)

The really sad thing about all of this is, it appeals to my self-sufficiency side. I just don't have a sound enough gardening work ethic to try to enjoy the actual gardening part. There always seems to be something else more exciting to do.

I think I would prefer just to pick the peas and eat them like you would fruit.

We've got some plants growing where the raspberries were, but I'm not sure what they are. Weeds tend to get pretty creative nowadays, disguising themselves as something useful, so again, I guess I'll have to ask my wife about those. I agree, though. Raspberries and Marionberries are both very tasty fruits.

I get what you mean. The best part for me is also the consumption of said food. I'm not as big on the preparing and such. I do like picking it though as it's normally not difficult and normally not a long process. So I can wander out there and grab something that in a little while will have magically transformed into a meal or snack. Or I just eat it. Ha ha!

I eat the peas immediately after picking them. I was going to say "right off the vines" but I don't do that. I'm going to have to try it though. I'll have my wife watch so I can make her think something is even more wrong with my brain. ;)

I have trouble telling the difference between lettuce and some of the local weeds while the lettuce is little. Once it starts growing then I know what's what and I can pick the weeds out of there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62422.21
ETH 3177.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78