You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Indoor Plants: How Quickly to Rejuvenate a Dying Plant back to Health, like Pro [Plants][Gardening]

in #gardening5 years ago

I use cache pots under all of my 75+ house plants or humidity trays. We have 2 wood stoves and nothing is worse for making dry air.

Arrowhead plant crop Jan. 2018.jpg

Arrowhead with deep cache pot. I fill this 1/2 full twice a month, as you can see. Plant is 15 or 20 years old..

Bay laurel and African violets2 crop March 2018.jpg

Two bay laurels and 2 African violet starts on humidity trays.

I've had good luck with these simple methods for many types of plants. If they can't survive this type of care, then they don't make it here.

Sort:  

Good idea. Does it keep the foliage humid enough?

I'm not sure I can see the what you are talking about in the top photo. It looks very healthy though. Looks like glass beads in the other photo, filled with water in the lower tray right?

The bottom, white container on the first photo, is a reused 1 gallon ice cream bucket. They work great as cache pots for hanging plants in big pots. When you water the plant from the top, the cache catches all the water. It slowly evaporates through the soil and plant. You can see the water line about 1/2 way up.

The 2 bay laurels are on glass beads that I got from BuyNothing. The African violets are on small stones I collected in the gravel in the driveway. I use anything that will allow evaporation and elevate the plant pot.

Nice. Thanks for the explanation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63316.73
ETH 3077.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87