My journey with Moringa 2017steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening6 years ago

In the summer I planted some Moringa as I had heard that it would not grow in the wet UK, and I wanted to see for myself.

I planted 320 of them expecting none to flourish as it was raining every day...and a week later, I had 340 two inch plants growing vigorously....which was really exciting until I realised that they grow rapidly and indeed by the end of Sept, this was how big they had become! Not bad for a beginner.

Why Moringa? Well it is the best super food on the planet and I had been reading about it, and wanted to see if I could grow it organically with a view to selling it and using it myself next year.

Most of the videos I had seen on Youtube were filmed in California or Costa Rica, so the distinct lack of sun in the UK had persuaded me that they would not grow. You can see from the photo below that at the same time as being a super food, they are very capable of growing in a variety of climates!

Screen Shot 2017-11-19 at 11.34.32.png

A friend had said I could grow them in her attic, but as you can see, it got a bit much so following Youtube again, I cut them down to about 3 inch stems and currently they are underneath the hut that I am temporarily living in, and my fingers are crossed that they will make it through the winter.

You may be able to catch sight of them in the following video, which is where I am at with my plants, 5 months after planting them.

So it was a bit painful cutting them down, but I managed to save the leaves, and dry them, and this is what that looks like..

IMG_2494.jpg

I had 4 lids and baskets and dried them over a few days, and then made them into capsules- having found a video on Youtube. They are much greener than the ones I had bought, and so I am sure they are better for me. So far, taking Moringa has helped me to lose weight without making any changes, and has definitely reduced some of the pain I was feeling in my knee. It is a detox product, so beware of taking too much at first, but I am so pleased I found it and it gives me many of the nutrients that I need in a very bio-avaialbe form, meaning my body can use them! Look it up- its fab!

Next year, I will either continue growing the ones that survive or plant some as soon as the frost is gone. I would like about 10 really healthy old trees and I will produce Moringa capsules grown in the UK! Love to do things differently!

Ok so the reason I am planting anything is because I want to plant a forest, and I want to be growing health giving plants and trees so I can continue with my healing journey. I am at the beginning of the project and was drawn to Wales, so am looking for land, partners, and funding all in one go! If you want to find out about what we are doing, go to http://www.treeplantingholidays.com, and let us know if you want to help!

In the meantime, I have lots to learn! If you know the names of any of the plants I do not, please let me know!

Thank you for reading this!

If you would like to find out more about me and what I do- here are some links:

Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/spiritualgrowthtools/
https://www.facebook.com/treeplantingholidays/

Websites
http://spiritualgrowthtools.co.uk
http://treeplantingholidays.com

Google Plus
https://plus.google.com/u/0/+CarolineNettle

If you want to read my other blogs - go here - https://steemit.com/@growthtools

Sort:  

This is cool. And you're right, I've never seen moringa grown in the UK either. That's awesome you want to plant a forest. Especially if it's one you can eat.

Thanks @choogirl! Will take a look at some of your posts. Yup, want to be selling it from next year if they survive, year after if they don't!

Hi Caroline, I've been wondering whether Moringa could be grown in Wales.

I will have to try some in my polytunnel. Did you grow from seed?

Yes I did. They took a week to get to around 2 inches....all indoors but plan to put them in a poly tunnel next year. Let me know how you get on. Taking the capsules has definitely helped my health!

WOW. It will grow in humid and cold places like yours however as tree like, unlike here in Philippines we have tons of it hahahaha

I know you do, as well as sunshine! Do send some our way!

How I wish I could throw branches out towards you hehehe.
It has a wide array of benefits... it also have calcium!
I hope it will grow steady there.. You did a great job! I bid you more blessings!

Thank you @dante01 - you have a new follower for being kind! It is doing as best it can and still hasn't been killed off by the cold.....hopeful times! Thank you!

ow thank you. I already followed you to check moringa's update hahaha.

I had actually just run into moringa for the first time a few days ago while reading another blog here on Steemit (https://steemit.com/homesteading/@bobinson/the-moringa-story-the-beginning) and it is really cool to hear you are having some success cultivating it in the UK. It really sounds like an amazing superfood. Good luck - hope you get your dream forests planted :)

Much love - Carl

Thanks @carlgnash - a bit of a way to go yet as need to see if they survive the winter, but pretty sure they will grow in a tunnel. Highly recommend it as its a superfood and they also call it an invasive weed - so that should give you a clue as to how easy it is to grow! Planting trees is the way to go!

Really interesting. I have never seen this before! Do you have seeds? Worth seed sharing maybe?

You've certainly been busy Caroline! And seem to have green fingers too, I'm impressed at how many healthy looking plants you've grown! I'm dreadful with plants!

Great to see the progress! Well done! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60