Levitating a Tillandsia Air Plant Magnetically!

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)


Hey everyone! I have a fun one today for you. It's semi plant related but more sciencey.

I got a hold of one of those fancy levitating planters and decided to float a tillandsia plant in it. As you know, these are air plants, so naturally it made sense to try and levitate one!

It reminded me of the Levitron, a cool toy I had as a kit that would levitate a spinning top...but even better this time because it's a PLANT!

Thanks For Watching!

If this is your first time reading my writing, thank you! Please leave a comment so I can get to know you better.

My name is Kevin and I run Epic Gardening, a website, podcast, and YouTube channel. My goal is to teach 10,000,000 people how to grow their own food.

I'm a big believer in Steemit and decentralized platforms, so I'm going all in on Steemit, dtube, and dsound. Be sure to check me out there too! You'll find me writing about gardening, travel, health, and philosophy - I can't seem to stick to one topic :P

Thanks and happy Steeming,

af.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Wow neat. Wonder how my green pepper plant would do in a levitating planter. Or my herbs. Wonder if the magnets affect the growth, or the soil.

I've wondered the same - not sure to be honest, I need to research more. I know I'm going to try an herb in there soon!

That is awesome! I wish you luck in your garden teaching and look forward to seeing more content form you. I just started a little herb gardening series and am looking for some suggestions on what i should plant. Please feel free to check it out and let me know what you think.

Thanks for the kind words! Checking out the series...

Muy bien amigo increíble, mucho éxito.

Gracias mi amigo!

Wow so cool! I like air plants. Mine just bloomed. I posted pictures of it

Just checked them out! Love when they bloom...rare for me.

this is such a neat product! you'd never have to worry about rotating a plant to give it equal sun exposure with one of these ;)

Haha I know right? I should try lettuce in it!

Dude... I need this. Know exactly what I'm getting my partner for her bday now.
Love Tillandsia; gorgeous, low maintenance companion. I hang mine above the sprayers in with the carnivorous plants. As a result, they're never watered directly but thrive in the high-humidity. Water tolerant members are great for sitting alongside orchids.

I believe you can find them at flyte.se if you want one really badly! - Tillandsia is such an amazing plant, couldn't agree more.

Shit thats pretty cool. Will definitely be resteeming this just so I can make sure to put it on my grocery list.

Grab a few for family and friends - I'm tempted!

Now that is pretty cool. I would love to try and make one.

If you could make one, you would save us all from the ridiculous prices of this one! :P

Dude! That is so cool! You should auction it off so I can bid on it. LOL

Bahaha I might! I have no use for it right now :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70999.72
ETH 3678.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81