You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Certified Organic: What's Behind the Label? Is It Good for Small Farms or Consumers? (DTube Daily Vlog)

in #gardening6 years ago

I understand how hard it is to get the organic certification. My aunt has an organic farm. Everything she produces is raised above and beyond the standard that are expected yet she can't receive the certification due to the farm down the road. Although her soil has tested organic they claim that there could be run off from the surrounding land which could compromise her produce. She too found so much red tape around it all. I think as long as you know who you're buying from and are able to see how they grow, I'd much rather give my money to those people than the bigger commercialized organic growers just because they have a certificate.

Sort:  

I have found a promising solution to the runoff problem. Our homestead is a narrow 10 acre strip between 2 hayfields, one of which does get sprayed. I am going to build tall (hopefully >10 feet) hugel beds along the perimeter. This will stop runoff, buffer highway noise, add to useable surface area, and stop overspray carried by wind. Still not gonna go after the certification, though.

Oh wow that's a great solution. I'd be keen to know what plants you intend to use in the hugel Kultur bed to help this process? .😊😊

Well for my purposes, since I am using the space primarily for grazing, it will be mostly just grass. I am researching possibilities for shrubs or trees for the top edges which would increase the hight of the windbreaks and supply more shade but haven't really decided for sure yet.

That's a tough situation for your aunt, sorry to hear about that. It gets so red tape-ey once you get into it all!
The certificate can be helpful if you don't have a cance to meet or relate to the grower, but i totall agree with you. More $ to the folks doing the good work on a small scale! Thanks for you input.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98