Saw Some Red Today!

in #gardening6 years ago

After a month of working in the garden I harvested my first handfuls of garden goodness this morning!

01A9DD18-C760-4DD2-ABDF-5B2150BFE5D2.jpeg

The strawberry plants are loaded with berries in various stages of ripening. Today there were enough small red berries to fill a little girl’s hands. They disappeared very quickly! I hope the size increases as the season goes on. They tasted great, just very small.

F0EC5F5C-5FFC-47E0-A711-9241E292C359.jpeg

I also harvest a nice handful of radishes. They are at the perfect size right now, so I foresee us eating a lot of radishes in the near future. I need to get a second planting in soon so we can be eating fresh radishes all summer long

The first thing I harvested this year was rhubarb. My rhubarb is producing very well this year, just didn’t get a picture of it. I’ve been making rhubarb crunch. I may take some photos and share my rhubarb crunch recipe next time make it.

Notice my daughter is wearing a jacket in the photo with the strawberries. Yes, it is supposed to be basically summer by now, but we’ve been suffering with 60° weather this week. We’re actually burning a fire in our woodstove right now. Hopefully the plants in the garden don’t suffer too much. Hopefully I don’t suffer too much either. 😜

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by homespun from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62500.50
ETH 2936.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59