Stargazer Lily

in #gardening6 years ago

DSC00324.JPG

My stargazer lily is showing off it's lovely flowers right on time. They tend to bloom later than the Asiatic lilies but early for the Oriental type. Most years it produces a solitary flower but this year (perhaps because I fed it some fertilizer) is gifting me with two blooms. Now that the peonies have finished their cycle of flowering it is nice that another plant has stepped up to add some color to the garden.

The peony directly behind it has developed a problem recently and is ailing. The other five bushes are still doing well. I suspect a colony of ants have taken residence in its roots. I hate to have to dig it up as they don't take well to being moved at this time of year. However, I don't want that ant colony to spread to the rest of the garden.

Sort:  

Does the borax and sugar treatment not work outside?

It does indeed. I used a covered cream cheese container for the mix. I'm waiting on the rain letting up a bit as we've had torrential downpours the last three days. 116 mm in three days. The last container floated off in the flood.

I'm also going to use another systemic method of pest removal. Knowing of the smokers in the area I have saved the butts and am stewing a nicotine "tea". I'll be pouring it around the roots of the plant. I've used this in the past to deal with aphids on my roses. It's not harmful to the plants but the bugs biting them don't like the flavor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66149.24
ETH 3015.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73