You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Scenes From My Polytunnel in Britain - as I Prepare The Soil for My Melon Plants, Cucumbers and Many More :)

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

It's very honorable to see people getting down to earth with their knowledge in Biology as little as they can be. Biology is my major and I truly respect people who practice home-based farming either for food or commercial purposes.It aids in the fight against global warming. You've earned my respect. @ura-soul

Sort:  

Oh, thanks! I recommend reading the books from the series 'the food soil web' if you haven't already. All about the micro life forms that make the difference between productive soil and dead soil (also the difference between small organic yields and massive organic yields). :)

I'm a final year Biological Sciences undergrad, so I'm pretty sure I have already studied into detail most of the contents of The Food Soil Web. However, I will check it out anyways. Thanks for the recommendation.

I would hope so, but the vast majority of farmers, consumers and just about everyone I have ever met have no clue about it ;)

Particularly the idea of compost tea: http://www.soilfoodweb.com/Compost_Tea_Recipe.html

Compost tea...now that's new to me. The recipe on the website seems very simple. Have often do you try it? I mean the compost tea

It takes about 24 hours to make a brew and you can then treat the soil and even the plants directly. How often to use it depends on the variables involved, I don't use it more than 3/4 times a year - but you could use it a lot more.

Here are a few video links on the subject from my website: https://www.ureka.org/search?q=compost+tea&entity_type=object&entity_subtype=videolist_item&offset=0&search_type=entities

That was helpful. Thanks man

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63207.78
ETH 3068.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87