You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Benefits Of No Dig Gardening

in #gardening5 years ago

I love gardening articles. Every year I grow plants in my garden, although I must say that no dig gardening seems too daring for me.

I feel that I need to add fertilizer to the soil, although I do my own compost since last year from leaves, wood chips, dust and food oil, but I also mix this with the fertilizer and dig the ground to mix them all together.

No dig gardening seems like the best solution for weed control but I'm not sure how could I mix powerful chemical fertilizer to the ground without digging.

Here is my last year's garden: https://steemit.com/gardening/@laviq/my-little-garden-today

and here is my irrigation system for trees: https://steemit.com/gardening/@laviq/installing-a-sub-surface-drip-irrigation-system

Sort:  

The thing is by adding compost and mulch you don't need any chemical fertilizers at all. In fact, the fertilizers will hurt the processes in the compost. Once you start using chemical fertilizers it kills all the natural organisms and like a drug the soil becomes dependent on the fertilizers.

I recommend stop using them and just use compost and mulch religiously and you'll end up with better soil, fewer pests, and better food.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61852.61
ETH 3084.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83