Garden, Grass and Sauna Update

in #gardening6 years ago

Well, I have been back home now for two days now and I am overloaded already!
Jay also headed back to work early this morning for another 2 weeks!

My garden is quite weedy and I also have some little beetles eating my cabbage, cauliflower, beans and radish tops.😒 Thankfully they haven't got to my peas or beets yet, I am going to try the dish soap/water and spray them, if that doesn't work I guess I will be picking those lil buggers off one at a time!

IMG_6302.JPG

IMG_6301.JPG

I got the garden mostly weeded and added in some cucumber seeds and my chives, dill, and garlic chives in the white rounds.
IMG_6304.jpg

Another thing that is out of control is the grass!! It's like a jungle out there, but I keep thinking I should make something with all them dandelions first!
IMG_6305.jpg

The guys that were going to make that lil trailer into a sauna for Granny backed out saying it was too much work to get it into a sauna, I knew that when I brought it home.
So I threw it up on a local buy and sell and it sold within 1/2hour!!
I have a 13ft x 5ft skid/sleigh here I had made to haul timbers behind the argo in winter, well, that plan has now changed and I will be using it to build Granny an 8ft x 4ft sauna on. I made out a cut list of what I will need and next time I head to town I will pick it all up and get started.... the things I get myself doing.. I tell ya! LOL! ;)

@leemlaframboise
#north-woods

Sort:  

A good gardening. 💫🌿

I like that you had grown COCUMBER and garlic in white rounds.
Bless you.

I love the rocks around your garden bed, it looks very pretty. I was going to use logs but I think after seeing this I might mix it up a bit! Sorry about the wee little bugs. :(

Thanks!
Logs always look great too!! If you do use logs be sure to peel the bark off though, the bark will encourage the rot by holding in the moisture and not letting the log fully dry properly.
I am hoping the spray works on them lil buggers, I haven't checked again since I sprayed.

If your having problems with bugs try doing a drench with frass when you plant. It is very good for your plants but will really help with pest also. I did an article on it awhile back. You should be able to look around local and find a mealworm farm that will sell it for much cheaper then you will find online. Those prices are very high.

Thanks for the tip, I will have a look into it! :)

What the heck does your husband do that he’s gone for two weeks?

Jay is a medic at the Hydro projects further up north; he works two weeks in and two weeks out, it is a 6-9hour drive from here depending on what site he is working.

That’s cool he gets 2 weeks off. I get 1 week a month and I thought I was lucky.

You could so all kinds of stuff with the dandelions.
We will be harvesting roots soon.
Your garden box still looks cool, even if you have buggies. There are a whole bunch of natural garden bug repellents online, and here on Steemit. Just a matter of trial and error. Hubby says manius work good for them too.
Sucky about granny’s sauna, cool that you could pull through for her

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71