My veggie garden :: 18/06/2017

in #gardening7 years ago

Although I am not much of a gardener, if I do grow something, I like to be able to eat it. So over the years I have gained a little bit of experience growing veggies here and there. The main problems I have here are birds (mainly the mouse bird), summer heat and lack of water. So I built these beds under shade cloth - nullifying the first two problems and a friend gave me a 5000l water tank a few years back, and that sorted out the last problem. BTW we had no rain this summer and 5000l was just ok - went down to under 1000l at the end. I hand water every morning and use around 35l

garden 1.jpg

My garden basically consists of 7 x 1m2 beds and I try to stick with one vegetable type per bed. At the moment I have Chinese Cabbage, Kale, Beetroot, Spinach/ Swiss chard and Kol rabi. And the small tree is Moringa. I am really bad at labeling things though - to what I am calling Kale could easily turn to cabbage when I see a head forming. It's happened before.

garden 2.jpg

We have had a bit of rain so have not had to do much - maybe 2hrs of pulling up weeds a month. We get most of our greens from the garden and in summer get enough cherry tomatoes and lettuce to eat a salad a day. Have had no luck with cucumbers.

I find it pretty rewarding and enjoy what time I do spend there and yes, most things do taste a lot nice, especially tomatoes. Lettuce pretty much tastes the same, surprise surprise!

Sort:  

This reminds me to do also a post of my greenhouse. Yours looks really great. I love fresh fruits, vegetable and herbs from the garden. Nothing can beat this.

Cheers. No need for a green house here. Unless you looking to cook your food before picking!

Looks excellent.... glad to hear that 5000 liter tank lasted the summer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66021.84
ETH 2981.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70