Farm Update: Gardening After the Rain

in #gardening6 years ago

There's been a bit of gardening I've been putting off lately for a lot of reasons and today I got a good chunk done taking advantage of the cloudy afternoon after I finished taking care of my birds. This photo is of a pata de elephante (elephant foot in english because of how it looks) that I transplanted into a permanent location recently. I'm not much for plants that are just ornamental but I've always been fond of this one.

If you look you'll notice the plant in this photo is in a green tote, which is actually the tote I use to prepare soil. It's a volunteer purslane which is a succulent plant that's considered a super food by many and a weed by more. I decided that I wanted to trim it back and transplant it and today I did, right next to the pata de elephante.

Those black plastic bits are actually plastic pots, needing holes but nearly ready to fill with dirt.

My latest vibrams after a long wet day....

Some moringa trees in clearly too small of pots. These plants are what inspired the gardening stint.

Most of what you see needs a new container or home on the property.

Next time this will end up in one of those bags, this is my sensitive plant and today I harvested some seeds from it so I can start producing more!

This is a hopeful find that we actually picked up just before breaking down outside Mexico City. It's a baby comfrey plant which is a plant that's extremely useful but isn't really found around here. I trimmed off the dead today and it seems like there's a possibility it will survive.

Our jasmine plant is finally coming back after John killed off the cut ants keeping it literally bare. Jasmine has some of the sweetest smelling flowers out there and last night John noticed it blooming. I picked a few flowers for tea and there are more to harvest today, which I'm excited for.

My sassy still un-named Pecking male duck.

That's a volunteer tomato plant that's happy for the wet season, I put it there to perk it up and take advantage of the fruits.

Those early weeds are making perfect snacks for my birds while making it so I don't have to cut them down later. I'm not used to getting those things before they're out of control and feel a bit silly because they're a lot easier to handle for both me and my birds who process them after.

That skinny little tree shown in the last two photos is of the one Moringa tree I've recently transplanted outside, next to the purslane and the pata de elephante.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Jungle Shots: Early Wet Season Post-Rain Mountaintop Shots
Farm Update: First Rains And Soggy Chicks
Farm Update: What Happens When You Take A Silkie For a Walk in a Mexican Barrio

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Living in the Clouds: Return of the Clouds 2
Mexico City Madness: Starting the Journey Part 2
Pizza Dough Cinnamon Twists

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Estas invitada a la comunidad @Team-Mexico Invitación :D

I am curious about that sensitive plant, in fact here in the Philippines they grow everywhere. What this plant can bring to us?

From my understanding it can be drank as a tea for psychoactive experience but I've never tried it.

Apparently there are all sorts of uses for different parts, check out these links I found for more info.

http://www.tropilab.com/mimosatea.html

https://mavcure.com/health-benefits-touch-not-plant-mimosa-pudica/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99