Milk Jug Pepper Growing

in #gardening7 years ago

Since we moved into a duplex without the back yard, I've been forced to experiment and try getting more creative with my garden.

milkjugpepper.jpg

A lot has failed so far. We had things looking so good, then suddenly die off. And then whenever I try to fix something and make it better, like repotting into bigger containers or moving them to a better spot.. then they turn bad.

Maybe my thumbs have turned black.

But this milk jug peppers project is going surprisingly well. First the jugs were just supposed to be a temp thing, until I could get more dirt/bigger containers for them. Originally hubby had brought home like 40 sproutlings of assorted peppers, as they got bigger I gave some of them to my parents for their garden.

The really fun part is that he doesn't have them labelled at all. So I didn't know which may be bell peppers or hot ones, etc. Just had to guess and hope.

The tomatoes and peppers were at least easier to recognize than the cucumbers, squash, and melons though. I tried to send melons to my mother, but she wound up with happy squash crops instead.

Then I had tried planting some in other things like kiddie pools, only to find that the side of the house I had them on would drain and flood out my plants. Grrr.

I kept trying to fight it, then one day went out to find a couple uprooted laying down, with a path of rock pebbles where they had been, so I moved them in some of the jugs as a desperate measure to save them.

milkjugpeppers.jpg

They recovered and gave me jalapenos or spicy bananas. YAY! Even though the plants didn't grow as tall as the others, it still works.

So I'm baaaack...finally! Took awhile to get my hubby to build a new comp for me, and get my stuff all set up. I've missed steem a lot, came back and read some but haven't been able to log in for so long.

The other day I was actually wishing I could share and talk about my new fave dish to make, and now I realize it needed to be done here. So I plan on making that post next time.

Sort:  

Welcome back. Have not seen your post for quite a while. Looks like been busy since spring.

Thanks! Yeah life has been way busier, my sister also moved in so there's been a lot more going on too. Now I get to work on playing catch up here. :)

This is a very good cultivation as I experienced today. I tried to grow natural chili with homemade fertilizer, cow dung mixed with charcoal husk and one glass of added sugar water plus three spoons and then stirred until evenly distributed.

image

image

image

image

image

ooh, those look good!

capli atom, meunyo di aceh

Congratulations @lunnettik! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

black thumb huh .. maybe you can paint it green? :D

post about your fave dish ;)

Congratulations @lunnettik! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61191.20
ETH 2972.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48