Looking forward to Springtime - Time to start growing seedlings!

in #gardening6 years ago

It's springtime!

7.JPG

Just kidding ~ it's still winter here, as you can see!

2.JPG

but spring is coming soon, and it's time to start some seedlings. On the weekend, I started 4 varieties of green and sweet peppers, 10 varieties of heirloom tomatos, eggplant, and giant pacific delphiniums. This is my third year doing it and I think (hope!) I've hit on a winning formula.

First, I use eggshells, the nutrients from which really aid in seed growth. I've tried a few ways to label them, but this year I hope I'm onto something by making little signs and sticking them on toothpics (which will easily move to bigger pots with the seedlings as they grow).

4.JPG

In addition, this year I'm using a seed tray with a snap-on top, sitting on a seedling warmer, a specially made heating pad for seedlings that keeps them warm to encourage germination!

3.JPG

It's been 2 days, and I'm anxiously awaiting sprouts, but it will probably take another 7-10 days, so I will have to be patient:)

So looking forward to my beautiful summer garden! Next week, once these ones have hopefully germinated, I will start some more, including onions and broccoli. Many other flowers and veggies don't need to be started until April, and some (such as carrots, beets and spinach) should be directly sowed as soon as you can work the earth.

I will post more pictures of my seedlings as they grow:)

Have a nice night!:)

5.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations @makeaa! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69715.93
ETH 3772.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77