Florida Gardening - Beneficial Partner - Snake

in #gardening6 years ago

Florida Gardening

Beneficial: Snakes

We see quite a few snakes where I live. We have a pine snake that we call Steve that patrols our hood. He is usually elusive, so I don't have a picture of him. However, he moves between our neighborhood barns looking for rodents. He looks very well feed and we love to see him.

I seen this snake crossing the road on my way home. I've seen many snakes in our area and they keep the rodent population down. I got a couple of pictures and it was very accommodating and patient with me. Snakes can also eat some other beneficial predators, such as frogs. However, I think their benefits of keeping the most nuisance pests, such as rodents under control puts them in the beneficial category for a gardener. Of course I give them plenty of space, since they can bite and some are poisonous.

I'm not a snake expert. However, I think this is a rat snake, but I could be wrong. Can anyone identify the species of snake this belongs to?

IMG_0723.jpg

IMG_0718.jpg

I appreciate your time to read my blog. I hope you enjoyed it. I had fun spending some time with my "model". I'm not sure he enjoyed it as much as I did. :)

IMG_0706.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @marjnap! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Not an expert, but with some research I believe it is a black rat snake, though it may also be an eastern hognose as they look similar. Although black rat snakes rarely get as far south as Florida, that has the closest visual comparison. The Hognose however is known to live in Florida.

Hope this helps. Awesome photos by the way.

Thank you for the reply and the compliment on the photos. :)

Congratulations @marjnap! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - France vs Croatia


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @marjnap! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65345.02
ETH 2944.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76