The Gardening Season Has Begun!!

in #gardening6 years ago

It’s only February and yet our gardening season has begun!! I have been dying to start gardening, it’s one of those homesteading tasks that has almost instant results. You can visibly see progress pretty quickly. Gardening also happens to be an area where I need a LOT of practice. Gardening is also the cheapest homestead endeavor so when I fail I don’t feel quite as bad about it. There’s less stress involved with plants as opposed to living animals. Between the satisfaction of visible progress, the thrill of a challenge and the new produce varieties we want to try this year I have been beside myself waiting for spring.

28342646_10208930825667797_1367330010_o.jpg

I may have jumped the gun but I planted cucumber seeds last week. I know it’s early but the weather has been really nice with 80 degree days!! Today I came outside to a sprout!! I didn’t think they would do anything and there is always the possibility we will get a cold snap and it’ll die but I couldn’t wait any longer. I decided to plant them in last year’s garden space (we are in the process of preparing a new garden area) since they had done well there and because we will not finish the entire new garden space this year. Most likely we will only be able to fertilize roughly a 4th of the new area.

28461614_10208930825987805_14729437_o.jpg

We also have a potato plant growing in our compost pile. I use the term compost pile very loosely as it’s really a pile of food scraps that we don’t do anything to. Essentially the bug are breaking it all down since we don’t aerate it. This allows for plants to grow in the pile. Last year we had a few potato plants which we were able to harvest and a few cantaloupe plants which refused to produce cantaloupes. I ended up getting frustrated and pulled them up.

28343145_10208930826307813_634395627_o.jpg

Pictured above is our catnip plant that survived the winter. I’m seriously amazed it survived the week or more of freezing temps and the snow we had. Now it is getting bigger, lush and has spread into the rest of the window box.

28080332_10215176314546653_791275724_o.jpg
(sneak peek at our future garden space)

Check Out Our Recent Articles:

18 Months Without An Oven
We Have Bunnies!!

You Can Follow Us On:
Facebook
Pinterest
Youtube
Instagram

DQmVqcRwTgh8SPRAAvw4XFqdJFQjv9gjkKbQwjHgMcUih8S_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

LOVE this picture!!! Arms open wide.. "how big will my garden be? THIS BIG!"

haha thanks! This is only a section of the eventual goal too!

"There’s less stress involved with plants as opposed to living animals." -- uuhhh, i don't know that i can agree with that! living animals tell you exactly what they need (usually food or attention). plants make you guess. more sun? less sun? maybe they're too warm? maybe the soil isn't right. CILANTRO SEEDS WHY WON'T YOU SPROUT?!

as you may have guessed, there's a bit of drama in my life right now with the plants. LOL =D

your future garden space is awesome

haha I'm currently dealing with a rabbit with bloat and having had rabbits for only two weeks I might be a little bias against animals. We also lost our first animal last week. We're having a hard time haha.

and yet, even with all the drama and the loss, there's no other way we'd rather have it, right? hope things smooth out for you here soon! <3

So true! Thank you

I know that logically, I shouldn't start anything until after March 22nd, but things are starting to pop up. So, I'm going to have to straighten up the gardens and start some seeds indoors.

It was a bit of a gamble but it's been sooooo warm

Just have a plan for when the temps drop in the next couple of weeks.

I might just let them die. Its only supposed to get into the low 60s would they survive that?

Sub freezing is the issue. The weather might get much colder in about a week or so. Polar vortex stuff.

hmmmm I guess we'll see!

That's going to be a nice sized plot! Hope the early efforts pay off...

Eventually it will be 4,000 sq ft!

Wow, that's some serious space!

I figure that has to be enough for our eventual family of 4 right? haha

Yeah, and if not, it's damn good start. ;~D

Great ! i'm full of truth for your next article & harvest :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57