Spring yields its early rewards

in #gardening6 years ago

It took some convincing for my son to come work with me, but I feel it is very important for him to practice his skills hands on. There wasn't much to pull, so I put this chore all on him. He of course took it in stride and he eventually really enjoyed the activity!

Things are looking up in the garden, soon the Arugula will bolt, it needs cut down so that it will grow again. It grows more like a weed then a garden plant which is good and bad. It will grow very fast and then flower in a night if it isn't cut back and it will shade out its slower growing neighbors in the garden bed if you let it. This green has a buttery taste at first with a very bitter finish, and is good for digestion.

IMG_5066.jpg

IMG_5067.jpg

IMG_5068.jpg


"This ones really small Daddy." A few days ago he was playing "mario brothers" and decided to pull the radish early, and his mom gave him a bit of a scolding, I think he was worried pulling a small one was going to equal a talking to. It must be hard to discern when its ok to pick and when it isn't at 4 yrs. He completely amazes me at his many milestones, he's broken all the ones I had in my mind, now I just sit back and watch half in fear!

IMG_5070.jpg

IMG_5073.jpg

These are the best radish I've grown in a long time, so I had to do a little Steem photo shoot. They took on such a vibrant red, and they actually are more sweet then spicy even though they are large. When I plant, I sow the radish seed quite dense. A couple of weeks later you should thin. I would say I waited a little too long! Here it looks like 3 or 4 decided to fuse and make this mutant three legged radish.

IMG_5072.jpg

This video of Levi picking the first of the radish is just adorable. Anyone keep having Dtube give an unknown error when they publish? I've tried 3 other times and I am 0 for 4.

Sort:  

My dad also has a garden and I never learned how to maintain it except for watering the plants. Your kid is so lucky!

Nothing better than a home grown veggie patch ❤ it's a great way to teach kids to eat their veggies.

Life isn't complete without a garden!

Oh man, pretty cool work you both are doing! It's a little bit complicated to take children off the tv, and you are doing it well. Besides, your garden looks pretty awesome! Thanks for sharing it, Left my vote, see u soon!

I let my garden go to waste this season, but one of my motivations in the past was this glorious moment with my 4 year old that you've pictured here with yours. I did have him pick things in the garden throughout the winter, but picking greens is less exciting than spring crops. Need to get back at it.

Looks like a nice garden you've got there :)

Hello and good day @mobios. I enjoyed looking at the beautiful photos of your nice garden. Your son seemed to like and love being in the garden with you. He'll appreciate you teaching the skills for tending a garden as well as understanding how to plant vegetables as he matures in age with your guidance. That was cute him harvesting the radishes and putting them in a blue hat or basket. Thanks for sharing this moment with yourself and your son to us. That was nice. Have a wonderful lovely day.

It is beautiful and admirable to see, how children can learn so many things and put it into practice. The children are pure joy, I would spend all my time with them and I would be very happy. Many congratulations for that beauty of child and such beautiful crops, happy Sunday

It the cool children
And it amazing

you are a real dad. your son will be proud of you one day. and you too. love

You got a 11.82% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @mobios!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

You got a 100.00% upvote from @botcoin courtesy of @mobios!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60870.66
ETH 2917.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62