You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hydroponic Garden Setup - Drain Pipe Nutrient Film Method - Maker Challenge No.2 - Unofficial Entry

in #gardening6 years ago

This looks brilliant! Did you come up with the idea yourself, or adapt it from other hydroponic systems? I'm seriously impressed with your work.
We don't really need hydroponics where I live in Scotland, as we get more than enough rain, though it can be useful for growing under glass, which we really need to do here in order to protect crops like tomatoes from the elements. If I adopt this system, I'll definitely add the fish too.

Sort:  

Thanks - nutrient film is one of the 6 main types of hydroponic systems. I've seen it done with rain pipes, but when I saw these 4 inch PVC pipes at the hardware store, I had to have them :) When I built the system a few years ago, i designed it to fit in the sun room of the house. I wanted a lot of growing capacity, only wanted to use 1 pump, and wanted it on a stand so I wouldn't have to bend over too tend the plants - the basic design was born. I'll be using this in a greenhouse - less worry about greenhouse bugs with no dirt as well :)

Sounds like it was meticulously planned! Inspiring.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64230.75
ETH 3149.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85