Gardening with the worms

in #gardening5 years ago

A while ago, I noticed that something was chewing on the leopard lilies but I never could find it. Eventually, it got too large to hide and I saw that it was the work of a single worm. Just as well there was only one of them. The very next day, the there was a neat little cocoon. It's some type of Trichoplusia or looper caterpillar and you can see the little menace in the corner next to the rock and the sad remains of the lilies. It seems that the lilies were tasty but the philodendron not, that was untouched.

looper.jpg

cocoon.jpg
All those pretty leaves got turned into a little silk pod. And a shed worm skin on the side

Normally, whenever there are worms, people like to sprinkle pesticide everywhere but I think it's best to just toss them into the neighbour's yard or something. Although I tend to spray for pests like mealiebugs, It's actually better to give the insects their due. If they chew off a few leaves, so be it - the lilies will be back next year and if the birds were active, they catch the worms.... Although the birds avoid my garden, due to the cats.... Still not a good reason for spraying poison everywhere. The leopards have bulbs so they will be back next season.

ledebouria petiolata.jpg
Ledebouria petiolata or leopard lilies at the start of spring

First posted here on my blog in WeKu

Sort:  

It is a pity that the lilies were eaten by worms. They did not immediately notice. I think that it is necessary to process plants with pesticides in a timely manner. Otherwise, the pests multiply rapidly.

I did notice but I left it in order to see what would be produced

The leopard lilies are worth keeping the works away... very attractive.

They will be back in spring

Son hermosos los lirios. Pero creo que con esas ideas... no me gustaría estar de vecina suya, jajaja. Saludos amiga.

Even worms have preferences in food :-)))
Your leopard lilies are very interesting and beautiful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62841.54
ETH 3040.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92