GARDENING AFTER SUNSET - PLANTING MALABAR SPINACH FOR THE FIRST TIME

in #gardening6 years ago

I've been wanting to do this for years!


Malabar Spinach is a type of vining spinach that does excellent in the heat. After moving to Arkansas from Wisconsin, we've been experimenting with different garden plants and enjoying the increased variety, although the heat of summer can add its difficulties. Today, after sunset, I was still out in the garden, planting this wonderful plant for the first time ever!

MALABAR!

This raised bed in the center was the one that I prepared for the Malabar Spinach seedlings. You'll notice that I placed a T-post at each end of the bed.

I've got a variety of seedlings that will need to be planted in the near future, so I'm trying to cross things off of my list, even if it happens after the sun sets. Thankfully, the moon is rather bright tonight and the lightning bugs are out, so it was a pleasant time. In the seedling tray above are some Kiwanos, Tobacco, Ghost Pepper, and Malabar Spinach seedlings.

This beautiful seedling is the Malabar Spinach. Note that nice dark purple stem and veins. I can't wait to try some!

I ran some wire fencing between the T-posts for these plants to grow up. Hopefully, this will be able to be used for years to come. I try to build things to last a while, but when they last even longer, it just makes life easier.

As you can tell from the root system on this one, these seedlings are ready for the soil. I can't wait to watch them grow. It is always exciting to try a new plant in the garden, and we've been doing a lot of that lately.

Here they are, all planted in their new home. These are the older Malabar Spinach seedlings, so I'll have another set coming soon enough. I hope t see a beautiful wall of delicious green and purple soon enough!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-malabar

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

I really love your blogs @papa-pepper as always... A cool man, with a big heart of nature, plans and animalss. And loving dad....

Godbless always

Thanks for that! It means a lot to hear it!

😀😀😀

You do gardening 24/7. Moon or sun you are out there
making it happen.
Keep on steemin'

Sometimes, you just run out of daylight!

I've heard that Malabar spinach does well in the heat, we plant New Zealand Spinach here in Texas and it loves the heat. It gets a little droopy on 100 degree plus days but then will revive when the temps drop below 100 degrees. Love to read about all your homesteading adventures. Thanks!

It was very abundant here in the philippines most especially in cebu. That kind of vegetables sir @papa.pepper is what we called here as "alugbate". Best planting was during rainy seasons.

I hope they end up growing healthy
Btw I had a question to ask I hope you won't mind .
Do you sell the veggies and fruits you plant?

We hope to be able to grow enough to share, trade, and sell eventually, but we are just getting all of this started.

@papa-pepper........Kudos to you.....It would be very difficult to get a farmer who is so proud about what he is doing like you.Keep the good work going ...Spinach is an example of a leafy green vegetable and it is widely consumed all over the world. spinach as a vegetable is a good source of vitamin K, vitamin A (in the form of carotenoids), manganese, folate, magnesium, iron, copper, vitamin B2, vitamin B6, vitamin E, calcium, potassium and vitamin C. It is a very good source of dietary fiber, phosphorus, vitamin B1, zinc, protein and choline.Most of the vitamins present in spinach are antioxidant and antioxidant helps to scavenge free radicals in the body thereby preventing cardiovascular disease, cancer related diseases and even prevent ageing. The vital nutrient in spinach are also important to healthy living such as iron which is needed for formation of red blood cells, calcium is also important for bone formation and even prevent osteoporosis.Potassium present in spinach helps to reduce blood pressure because it acts as vasodilator which helps reducing stress on the heart. If there is one vegetable you should eat or cultivate that must be no other vegetable than spinach..I repeat spinach. Great Work!!! @papa-pepper

Sounds great!

ha! love the "proof" photo papa-pepper, look a little deranged there..but that spinach is gettin pepperplanted no matter what! lol. I've never heard of this plant, how is it different from a regular spinach? thanks for another interesting and educational post!

It grows on a long vine, that would be the major difference, but there are probably others too.

well the soil looks rich so I bet those things thrive like crazy! I didn't realize you moved from Wisconsin, wow what a difference from AR, up there you had very short growing seasons.

Yeah, I wouldn't even plant outdoors until June 1st up there!

I just learned the name of the stir-fried spinach I've been eating all these years. Always learning something new on Steemit.

Cool! Now you know!

Killer. I have some that I am planting myself. I have seeds that are going in tomorrow. Just a couple spots for now until I get the pole bean garden done then I will grow on the end posts. I've never grown it before so it kicks ass to see the plants before hand.

Nice! Glad to hear that we are both trying it this year!

Oh, that's definitely a great ingredient for salads, @papa-pepper! And for other dishes too! Hope to see it creeping and filling the wall soon! Cheers!

Thank you! I'm excited to try it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65262.74
ETH 2937.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68