You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Scenes From My Polytunnel in Britain - as I Prepare The Soil for My Melon Plants, Cucumbers and Many More :)

in #gardening6 years ago

Nice work my friend, I have a feeling that the ability to grow our own food is going to become an essential skill over the next few years .. good to see you're ahead of the game. I've never heard of people growing melons in the UK before .. inspired!! You'll have to do a taste test post. :)

Sort:  

Yes, part of the reason for me growing food is to be ready in case SHTF. Also though, homegrown is the only way to get the food that has maximised nutritional value - since shop bought food just doesn't have it - no matter how much you pay.

The first time I grew melons I didn't realise that insects have to pollinate them (or that I had to simulate them doing it) - so I got a lot of melons growing that then died off... This time I will be ready, so will hopefully get quite a lot. I'll post about them, for sure.. The ones I did grow previously tasted great!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63207.78
ETH 3068.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87