Small Changes Can Bring Big ResultssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

1146669_10200404967357276_792038063_n.jpg
Texas Sage

43743615_10213080348233876_6611319140999233536_n.jpg
They grow up so fast...

A little over a year ago I found this volunteer purple texas sage bush in my yard it was under a foot tall. I decided that it was in a good place to live and wanted to help it grow. I put down some fertilizer around the base and then made a doughnut around the bush with rocks and some decomposed granite.

This beauty started to grow fast, since adding the ring of rocks at the base of the plant created more moisture in the ground. The rocks protected the soil from the harsh heat of the sun which in turn attracted beneficial insects and allowed microbes to flourish.

This simple and small act of moving rocks around helped bring about great change. I did not need to water the plant, as it is a native and can survive drought. If I had left the plant to it's own devices, it would still have grown without my help, but not nearly as quickly and vibrantly.

When the bus flowers, it sends off this heavenly floral aroma with the slightest hint of musk. Some say that the blooms can predict a rain storm coming in the next few days. In my experience, more often than not, they are correct.

Sort:  

What part of Texas are you in? :D

Central Texas. Where are you from?

North Texas. Wise county

Does it get really cold in winter? I have some citrus plants that I have to cover when we go below freezing, but that doesn't happen too much here.

Not usually, but supposedly we're in for a really cold winter. I'm told it's too cold for most citrus here, so we'd need a cold hardy variety. I'm hoping that my avocados are cold hardy. If not, I'll have to bring them inside, which will probably only work for one year.

Growing tropical plants in the wrong climate is hard. I wish I had a nice green house but I can't always get what we want sadly. I hope your avocados make it through winter.

They didn't 😂

I left em out during our first freeze the other day. It came two weeks sooner than average.

My citrus trees are unhappy. The freeze got them too.

Cool looking Sage :3

I love it. It is a cool plant indeed.

Congratulations @permaculturedude! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61