Take a tour of my Garden with me!

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)


My garden has been in the ground for about 1 month now and it's coming along nicely. This is one of the first year I've really went all out and this thing is massive. We have plans to do some extensive freezing, canning, preserving and sharing to use up everything in it.

I've tried a couple different things to get better results than previous years and so far it's paying off. I have found the soil to be pretty dense with lots of clay so in the past it seamed new plants and seeds had a hard time starting out, so I used some triple mix, commercial soil along the rows which seams to be working out quite well. I do plan to addend the soul quite heavily over the next few years, with lots of compost and organic matter and think this will really help.

The seeds I started in the house and young plants I planted from the greenhouse have been doing much better than the seeds I sowed directly in the garden and I think I'll be doing much more of that over the next years as well.

I've already spent about one full day hoeing and weeding but seem to be falling behind again and think that will certainly be a constant struggle.

Anyways I hope you enjoy the tour and of course if you have any great advice for me, I would certainly appreciate it. I'm still a novice at this.


Footer by @bearone


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I want a garden but don’t want to do the work. 😂🤣. Maybe someday I’ll step my game up and plant one. Luckily I have some nice neighbors that share a lot of food with us.

That works out good, I think my neighbors will be getting whole lotta vegi's this year too.

Hey, that garden is looking pretty good. You should look into straw bale gardening. Check out my channel for a full tutorial. You can use the bales to grow in then use the spent bales to amend your in-ground garden. It makes for the best soil builder I've ever used!! Check it out, I promise you won't be disappointed! Cheers and happy gardening!

I've been reading a lot about this no dig method kinda thing, I'll have to look more into it for sure I think.

Nice garden, looks like your doing good it's pretty big and everything is coming in good. I don't have much wisdom just started gardening first year so pretty much winging it lol. Hope to see some updates in the future!

yes i am agree with you

Yeah, It's definitely pretty big, so far so good anyways. I'm excited when I start getting a few vegi's to show. I'll be showcasing them for sure.

A nice and spacious garden is perfect for growing a variety of fruits, nuts, or medicinal plants, even large plants such as mango, guava and rambutan

I'm in a pretty cold climate here in Canada, so my options are a bit limited unfortunately.

hola sabes me llamo la atencion el rambutan que mencionaste @aiyub es una fruta originaria de malasia pense que podia haber aqui en venezuela gracias por darme un conocimiento de algo que desconocia

It's always good to see someone raising their own food. Congratulations on a wonderful garden. Something you may want to check out is the "Back to Eden" Gardening method. I have been a Master Gardener for over 30 years and this is the method we now use. I have included a link .
https://www.backtoedenfilm.com/organicgardening.html

Thanks, this is the same no-dig method I keep seeing over and over again, I think it may finally be time to give it a try for next year.

All of the hard work always pays off. I love to work tje garden barefoot..it makes me feel even more connected. This lost would be great in thw ghsc tag.


Global Homestead Collective

Come join us on discord! https://discord.gg/KCYH4JX

Looks like a great community you have there, I'll definitely be checking it out. Funny you mention barefoot, just the other day I came in after working barefoot and washed my feet in the tub, but didn't clean it up well enough, my poor wife was so confused in the morning.

Haha i can imagine. when we built our home, we added an additional water line in the shower just for washing feet.

I see and spend in my garden each day. My office is in my shed and the washroom is in the house (you who drink a great deal of water likewise realize what I mean by this!) so I go by my garden various circumstances in a commonplace work day. I see what each plant is doing and discover extraordinary satisfaction in watching things develop.

It really is so great just to spend some time checking it out, I'm usually out there peaking about twice a day.

disfrute mucho tu jardin tambien siento mucho amor por las plantas diran que estoy loca pero me gusta hablar con ellas me oyen un abrazo fraterno desde venezuela..

You have been defended with a 92.31% upvote!
I was summoned by @phelimint.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57