You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Freestyle Garden... Glorious Garlic

in #gardening6 years ago

Yummmmmy! Great forethought to take photos during all stages of the growing process. It's super cold in NZ right now so all I have growing is a few rows of rocket/arugula and spinach. Never thought of eating those tops, what's the texture like?

Sort:  

Its just the flower stalk. It is like a green onion in how you use it, but it has a fleshy gelatinous texture kind of like an aloe vera plant with great garlic taste. It softens up when you cook it. I hope that helped!

We also eat the entire garlic earlier in the year as a green garlic, just like a green onion. These are my first garlic planting here. This fall I will choose a location to plug in a bed of garlic that will remain there, i will plant the whole head as one and eat most of the shoots that come up as green garlic and then scapes... The few I leave to grow will become my seed cloves for future crop plantings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62862.51
ETH 3180.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81