★ How to: Grow Avocado from Seed (A Complete Step by Step Guide)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

AVOCADO.jpg

In Today's Project Diaries Video I will be showing you the most successful and easiest way to grow your very own Avocado plant from Seed. This seems to be one of my most popular tutorials to date, mainly due to just how quickly you can achieve results.

20160504_164934.jpg

You may have seen many other videos, internet advice or other tutorials try this with many different techniques but not all of these have a guaranteed success rate or as faster germination speed. All you'll need for this tutorial is an Avocado that's ripe enough for eating, a cup, and 3 toothpicks...

20160630_180048.jpg

You really don't need any fancy equipment or prior growing skills, which is why this is a great project to try as a beginner or with young children...

20160630_180029.jpg

This is also a project you can try all year round indoors on a windowsill. Within a few weeks, you should see some surprising results. Just make sure that when you're topping up the water levels, always use room temperature clean tap water as using cold water could slow down the growth process.

This tutorial will also help you with any slight mistakes that may happen along the growth journey.

20160731_163958.jpg

If you'd like to find out exactly how easy it is to grow your own Avocado Plant please see my full tutorial video link at the bottom of this post.

Please feel free to resteem this and upvote if you found it helpful.

★ IF YOU HAVE TRIED THIS OR ANY OTHER PROJECT DIARIES VIDEO AT HOME I'D LOVE TO SEE PHOTOS OF YOUR PROGRESS VIA MY FACEBOOK GARDENING GROUP: https://www.facebook.com/groups/projectdiariesHQ/

I'm hoping to make more Project Diaries Videos in the Future so please help me by Upvoting this Post, Sharing this Video link, Subscribe and clicking the thumbs up button via Youtube.

Please Subscribe/Share/Follow/Like

YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/projectdiariesHQ
Instagram: https://instagram.com/projectdiaries/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ProjectDiaries/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Project_Diaries
Pinterest: https://uk.pinterest.com/projectdiaries/
Paypal Donations: https://www.paypal.me/projectdiaries

Thanks for taking the time to read my Post.

ENJOY!!

Check out the video link below.

Sort:  

Very nice explanation of how to grow avocado. Thanks dear!

Thank you! I'm glad it helped. Sorry for the late reply :)

It works! I used this method in the spring and my seed grew a double tree! You can see it has 2 stems.

That's great! Yeah, they do that sometime. You can cut the weaker one off if you like. Good job! :)

Cool, good work @anise. 2 stems is pretty awesome.

I've now got one that has 3 stems forming :)

Great article and fun pictures. I have never seriously tried this, because it takes a LOT of patience ;-)

If growing from seed, it can take anywhere from 5 to 13 years before the tree is mature enough to set fruit. However, trees grown from fruit, usually will not produce fruit at all.

But the truth is, it's much easier to buy a tree from a nursery that has been grafted. At that point it might fruit in 3-4 years. (well worth the cost of the tree)
Grafted trees are sure to produce fruit, because they are grown as a clone of a fruit producing tree; a tree known to produce fruit, and the grafted tree is a genetic copy.

You could theoretically graft your own tree, but it requires precise environmental controls, and will usually fail for most neophytes.

California varieties of avocado only grow well in a Mediterranean climate, which limits them to California's central and south coasts.

Of course it can be a fun project, and it costs nothing, and so for educational purposes, etc, have at it. It will produce an ornamental evergreen that can be very beautiful.

Indeed. Most people grow these just for beautiful houseplants, but there's no fun in buying pregrown plants and they can be very costly

They thrive in well drained decomposed granite soil.

Very interesting way, the easiest way

How long till we get our first avocado fruit tho?! Is it years?

5-13 years, but truth is, you need to buy a tree from a nursery that has been grafted.
You can look up horticulture details in my main comment above.

We used to do this when we were kids. I think it was a 70's thing. Thanks for the photos.

Love a good bit of nostalgia :)

I would Like to try this but no doubt I would stuff it up. My gardening abilities is pretty average.

You don't need any skills at all to grow these. They are extremely easy. Give it a try, You have nothing to lose :)

very true and it is much better then having to purchase them at ridiculous cost from the store

Yep! Especially as I'm trying to build a great garden for free from the ground out :)

When I have a moment, I will be sitting down and going through your tutorials as you haven't left many stones unturned, if you'll excuse the pun. :)
I have started to follow you so that I don't miss any

Thank you! I've started following you too. Thanks for the resteem as well. I'm glad you enjoy my posts :)

thank you, I appreciate the follow.

Oh I would so love to have an Avacado tree! My wife loves them!

It's very easy! Give it a try :)

Very wonderful - Sehr Wunderbar!! Thank you for sharing with us (Steemit Community)

You're welcome :)

As always! Great pictures and wonderful tutorial! I'm not sure I can grow them here but that may not stop me from trying!

Thank you! As long as you have a warm house, they can stay in water for the first year. Very low maintenance plants for the early stages :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62