★ How to: Make Free Slug Traps (A Complete Step by Step Guide)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

FREE SLUG TRAPS.jpg

Today's Project Diary Video I will be showing you how to make your own free and completely organic Slug Traps with left over Containers from the Kitchen. You can make these free traps from any form of tall deep containers such as Yogurt pots, Butter tubs, Ice Cream Buckets or even used Coffee Cups.

These traps will also attract Slugs and Snails away from your crops and flowers.

IMG_9619.jpg
slug snail.jpg

This Year has been especially bad for Slugs and Snails due to the large amount of Rainfall this Summer but my homemade traps have significantly reduced Slug damage to all my Vegetables, Plants and Flowers.

Beer Traps are effective but don't worry if you are under the age of buying alcohol. The Slugs and Snails are not attracted to the alcohol, In fact they are only attracted to the yeast taste of the Beer. Instead of buying or wasting a good Beer, You can just use a few Teaspoons of Yeast Powder in water which will work just as well.

I have attached the full video link at the bottom of this post for a complete step by step tutorial on how to make your own Free Slug and Snail traps.

Please feel free to resteem this and upvote if you found it helpful.

★ IF YOU HAVE TRIED THIS OR ANY OTHER PROJECT DIARIES VIDEO AT HOME I'D LOVE TO SEE PHOTOS OF YOUR PROGRESS VIA MY FACEBOOK GARDENING GROUP: https://www.facebook.com/groups/projectdiariesHQ/

I'm hoping to make more Project Diaries Videos in the Future so please help me by Upvoting this Post, Sharing this Video link, Subscribe and clicking the thumbs up button via Youtube.

Please Subscribe/Share/Follow/Like

YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/projectdiariesHQ
Instagram: https://instagram.com/projectdiaries/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ProjectDiaries/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Project_Diaries
Pinterest: https://uk.pinterest.com/projectdiaries/
Paypal Donations: https://www.paypal.me/projectdiaries

Thanks for taking the time to read my Post.

ENJOY!!

Check out the video link below.

Sort:  

I thought it may have been the sugar that they were attracted to in the beer, but the yeast makes more sense. Now I can stop wasting good (or even bad) beer for my slugs!

Would love to see a video on cabbage worms / moths. I'm planning on doing one shortly as that is currently my #1 battle in the garden...grrrr.

Moths are attracted to Sugar so use molasses. Thankfully I haven't had a problem with them this year but I will do a video if they appear in the future

Lucky you — I'm being infested :o

Congratulations @projectdiaries! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I used to have good success with these traps in England, but the slugs here can hold their beer! I'd check the traps at night and there would be loads drinking, but come the morning I'd be lucky to find one or two actuality dead in there. I recon they'd go home drunk to their wives! Lol!

haha! That's weird. Where are you living now?

South Australia.

I love south Australia. I have lots of family there :)

It's a challenge to grow her in summer though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65