Organic Gardening isn't for Sissies, Part 3 (and final)

in #gardening7 years ago

IMG_5503.jpg

So, determined as I have been to be an organic grower...I pulled a lot of weeds today. Thistles, dandelions and bindweed. This photo doesn't do the pile justice.

Part of me was thinking I should have just thrown an herbicide on that whole hillside and waited a couple years instead. Difficult chore for my 53 year old back. I keep telling myself it's worth the effort.

Sometimes I wonder though. Anyone more experienced than me who can offer some support or advice?

Thanks!

Sort:  

First thing that came to my mind was chicken tractor. And they'll get rid of the insects as a bonus!

Stupid HOA won't allow me to have chickens. Boooo!

Grrrr ... that is our dilemma too!
One of the main reasons we chose this home and the location was because of the chicken coop in the back.
Wish we would have read the fine print.

heavy sigh

excellent article keep it up

Thanx for sharing

Nice garden. A lot farther along than mine. Difficult, manic weather around here messes things up quite a bit. We had early Spring in February, then back to winter in late April, early May...then skipped Spring and went right to 100F Summer.

We used tarps and other things to cover over some hilly, unmowable parts to keep down the unwanted growth.
Easy on our much older backs. This year, now that all that growth is killed off, we are adding raised beds on that hillside. Patience is the answer and one of the hardest lessons to be learned as we try to tame this hilly land.

Yes, "insta-landscape" is not realistic for something you want to last. Patience, patience, patience...

I like your tarp idea but unless I'm missing something, no rainwater will penetrate and get into the soil and that's a problem for me.

It will kill off what ever is under it so it should work faster with no rain penetrating, No?

Yes absolutely it will. But, the ground is so hard and mostly lifeless, so I want to encourage moisture retention as well as increase the soil health. A tarp will kill the weeds for sure, but won't do anything to help my other objectives.

Free salad...Change the way you think about "weeds" (aka salad). Dandelion and milkthistle are important herbs. Dandelion greens coast about $3 for a small bunch as the supermarket. Thistle heals the liver... bless up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55