Small Potatoes

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

I'm growing potatoes for the first time this year. I've tried an experiment with half of them sown much earlier and grown in pots to eat as "new" potatoes through the summer, and the other half sown in larger containers in the garden as "main" crop potatoes to store through the winter.

The potatoes in pots needed a lot more care and attention. Because they were sown so early, the temperatures were a little too low for them to grow happily. It was difficult ensuring they were warm enough and got enough light to grow healthy shoots. I spent a lot of time carrying them out into the garden in the morning and then bringing them in at night, in case there was a frost that would have killed them.

20190408_125013.jpg
I think they were about this big, the last time I blogged about them. As the shoots start showing, you cover them in some more soil to encourage more layers of potatoes forming at each of the leaf nodes.

They were doing well: the shoots had reached the tops of the pots and I had filled the pots with compost. They'd survived the dangers of frost, and the foliage on each plant was about eighteen inches high.

20190707_102546.jpg
Then we had several weeks of torrential rain which smashed the foliage, followed by searing sun, which dried out anything which had survived. I felt a bit sad - all that hard work and love and attention.

A few days ago, I decided to tackle the untidy looking pots and clean up the back yard. I tipped the first pot out into the wheelbarrow:

20190707_102622.jpg
Much to my surprise, there were some beautiful new potatoes!

I raked through and found about 500g of new potatoes, some of them tiny - the sort they sell in Waitrose as "pearl new potatoes" at a terrific premium. I was as pleased as punch, as if I had grown them myself!

20190707_103724.jpg
I had some boiled with mint for lunch, and some made into a potato salad for later in the day. They were scrumptious!

I have tidied up the other pots and put them in a safe place in the garden. I thought the potatoes would store better left in the soil. Now, when I want some new potatoes for my supper, I can pop out to my pantry in the garden and up-end another pot.

There were meant to be more potatoes - I should have got a kilo or so from each pot - but given the terrible weather we've had, I'm very pleased with any. The ones in the containers in the garden are doing well, too. I keep earthing them up, there's about another layer of soil to go on in a week or two's time when the tubers have started to form just under the surface.

Not a bad experiment and I'm moving a little more towards growing at least some of my own food.

Sort:  

I don't feel potatoes are too difficult to grow to be honest we just left ours outside regardless of the weather and they just keep on growing and more keep appearing regardless of digging many up so I was in hope you would get a surprise and it seems you did still get some lovely potatoes.

Yes, you are right :) I'm going to have some more tonight!

Result! And you were so downhearted lol boiled with fresh mint. Perfect :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

😊 you can just see some of the onions in the background of the last picture. The foliage seems to be growing all over the show, but I can see the bulbs are swelling.

Have you tried nipping the tops off the onion foliage to encourage some growth to the bulbs? Dont actually know if this works but I remember my Grandad chopping the tops of all his root veg and the potatoes when they started budding and he was growing bakers!

Posted using Partiko Android

I think you are supposed to do that a bit later on. I shallhave to consult Alan Titchmarsh.

LOL Send him my regards, a good old Yorkshire boy :-)

My neighbour gave me a lovely book last year - I think it's called the Kitchen Garden or something like that - written by Alan. It's very straightforward. She used to have an allotment, but gave it up as she has a lot of family responsibilities now. It's a great starting place and I give her a few veggies in return.

Well that sure was a surprise! Well done!

Thank you 😍

You got a 19.65% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @shanibeer! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

@shanibeer You have received a 100% upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Congratulations @shanibeer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 comments. Your next target is to reach 5500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67