🍅 Organic Garden Wall Project Update

in #gardening6 years ago

The new organic garden over at my in-law's house has matured quite well over the last few weeks. They are now able to harvest tomatoes and herbs everyday from the garden as needed.

A note from my previous post:

A few months back I wrote about Hurricane Irma passing through and tearing the place up along the way. We got very lucky compared to the islands in the Caribbean, but still had to deal with the inconvenience of widespread property damage. Over the past several months we have been discussing what we wanted to put in its place. Should we just put a hedge, rebuild the same type of tiered garden, something more simple? We decided on a more simple privacy/garden wall that would be easier to maintain, but still have an area to grow some basic food items. This is a traditional organic soil container garden, no hydroponics in this garden setup.

Garden-Update-01.png

The yield on each plant is incredible. In my previous post about this garden I commented on the number of fruit and flowers coming in...

There are currently 51 tomatoes in various stages of ripening on the vines, as well as 130 newly pollinated buds/blossoms across the 4 pots.

Now we get to enjoy eating all 180+ tomatoes as they ripen fresh off the vines.

Garden-Update-02.png

The herbs have filled in nicely as well. Fresh Parsley, Cilantro, Stevia, Basil and Dill are now available as needed.

The Strawberry plants are still young and provide a few here and there, but should give a good yield next season.

Garden-Update-03.png


Let me know what you think, please leave your comments below.

As always, please upvote this post and follow me
if you like my work and want to see more.

If you think others will enjoy this
Please ReSteem it!

Thanks for reading!

🌱 Happy Gardening!

Sort:  

Damn, and we got snow again last night 😥

I will grab a fan and blow some of this heart up your way. :-) We have plenty to share.

just make sure it is not against the catch :-)

@steempowerpics I had an experience in the farm of 300 open-pit tomato plants, but my performance was far below since the pests almost broke with the crop, a way that you can work is in a house of culture or closed with good lighting. On the other hand I see that you have progressed with the plants so far in time.
Regards. STEEM ON !.


Organic is the only way to go.. And you provided so much info. I love your garden. Someday I hope to have something just like this.. You either pay for it now, or pay for it later. The GMO's are just not healthy for us, and doing more harm then good. .. I followed, upvoted and resteemed. Great post.

Wow, so beautiful and such a great idea. The tomatoes look very healthy also! I am still waiting for the last frost date to pass. So jealous!

This is so lovely! I love to see people get excited about their plants.lol
So I'm guessing tomato salads are on the menu this week?:)

...and next week, and probably the week after that ;-) Thank you for the kind words.

Hahaha...you can never have enough veggies..xoxo

Love all the tomatoes! Great work. Good luck with your harvest.

Thank you! Hopefully we can keep a good rotation of plants to keep them coming.

@steempowerpics that is fabulous.Nothing compares to nuturing your own plants to provide you with the awesome ingredients for your meals.Tomotoes are so versatile.Soups, salads, pizzas, ragus gosh its endless. I prefer mine cut raw in thin slices with olive oil, salt, pepper and some italian herbs.

Thanks for sharing your post.This has got me in planting mode now.My kids are off on holiday, so i want to do an outdoor activity.I might get them to make window boxes and start of growing their own herbs.Just need to get the provisions for it.👍🏼

wow beautiful colors, beautiful garden, I congratulate you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62513.70
ETH 2949.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60