You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: First Harvest of the Year: The Wild Strawberry - and How to Propagate

in #gardening6 years ago

Awesome. I love wild strawberries. And great for you. Lots of vitamin C and other good stuff. I've planted and watched them propagate with runners. And I've heard you need to keep a mix of mature plants and new ones from runners to keep the patch productive. I've never tried to start strawberries from seeds. Great post!

Sort:  

They say the strawberry puts out for a good 5 years, then the production really starts to diminish. Most of the runners they send out I let root in the bed. Wild strawberry seeds usually take a week or two to germinate, but it might be quicker for someone with a seed tray warmer, I just left mine outside in the shade - it's the right season.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63892.45
ETH 3117.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87