You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cilantro vs. Coriander - What's the difference?

in #gardening7 years ago

What I've been told here in Mexico (which doesn't make it necessarily true) is that people didn't want to call the plant culantro because it sounds like culo (anus). When I was in Costa Rica, nobody had a problem with calling it culantro (though they were familiar with the name cilantro). To me it looked, smelled, and tasted the same, but maybe it was another, related plant.

Sort:  

How very interesting. I wouldn't want to cook with anything that sounds like anus either. That why I gave up Angus Beef (just kidding!) LOL

My hubby works for a fish packing company. They often process and ship halibut - or 'but for short. He even brings home some of the meat they cut from the heads called "cheeks". So we eat 'but cheeks LOL Now doesn't that sound delicious!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71639.05
ETH 3841.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49