Lady Banks' RosesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening5 years ago
I have written about these beautiful flowers previously, but there is news I wanted to share, so I am reprising some photos and information. These flowers had stopped blooming for a few years and I figured the plants had died. I was so disappointed. They finally sprang new life again this year, a few feet from where they were previously, and so these wonderful flowers are back! I am thrilled!

LadyBanksRose1.png

Among the most delightful flowers I think I have ever seen are these small, delicate roses that grow on a vine as a "climbing" rose. The scientific name is Rosa Banksiae Lutea, and the common name is "Yellow Lady Banks' Rose." The namesake Lady Banks was the wife of botanist Sir Joseph Banks. These beauties begin blooming along with the last azaleas in springtime and the vines are filled with a profusion of delicate yellow blooms. All of these photos were taken in my back yard. I love the above photo so much that I had it enlarged to 16"x20" and it is hanging in my house, framed, so I can see it often.

LadyBanksRose2.png

These roses are so small! For reference to their size, my thumbnail is in the bottom of the following photo, as I was holding the vine while taking the shot. It is easy to see that the blooms are the size of my nail, and that is as large as they grow!

LadyBanksRose4.png

It's such a beautiful sight when these charming — and thornless! — roses and azaleas bloom at the same time!

LadyBanksRose3.png

I think these flowers look their best in indirect light, as in all the above photos, when their color is a soft, buttery yellow. The following photos show them in direct sunlight, still pretty, but with a more intense lemon-yellow color showing:

LadyBanksRoseduo.png

I will have to move later this year, and have tagged a couple of these roses to try to take with me. I certainly hope they survive and will be able to thrive on an apartment's porch!

ThanksForReading--Pink.png 😊

SOURCES
   1 RoseGardeningMadeEasy.com: "Rosa Banksiae Lutea"
   2 Wikipedia: Rosa banksiae

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

PowerHouseCreativesbanner.jpg

__pearls.png
18-Apr-2019

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

ahhh those are lovely, I love this time of the year, everything is blooming

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @niallon11.

Thank you for the upvote, resteem, and magical sprinkles 🦄

I love these pictures and the spring feeling that is in the air everywhere.... on steem and off ;-)

I was in my friends garden again yesterday and the bees were a buzzing around the flowers. Lovely time of year :-)

!SHADE 2
thanks for sharing on PYPT


We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
uvoted and/or resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives

Posted using Partiko Android

Beautiful!!

Oh those are gorgeous! So happy they came back for you!

The colour is so soft and beautiful... no wonder I was named Rose... Hahahaha... just kidding...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65231.30
ETH 2943.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66