Tersa Sphinx Moth Caterpillars

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

I found 8 Tersa Sphinx moth caterpillars on my 6 penta plants today!


As you can see they can be green or brown!



There are 2 brown and 1 green one in this photo!


D0003D8D-965E-4A4A-9B13-378929BA26FB.jpeg


0A70F392-3C2C-4630-A459-6A20EB3D6833.jpeg


I was quite surprised to find all of these caterpillars on my pink and purple pentas today.
They are very good at hiding themselves on the stems under leaves and flowers.
I just thought one of my purple pentas looked sad because I had watered it too much.
I looked closer at my plants tonight and finally saw all of these caterpillars!


I will let them eat on 3 of my pentas, the other ones I want to save to have flowers for when monarchs start migrating through our part of Texas in the next 2 weeks.


87EEEB43-EF6E-4A7B-B39D-08FC1DF650A7.jpeg


You can see how large these caterpillars are by comparing them to the size of my fingers in this photo!


Have you ever seen these before?


Have a Blessed Day!


violetmed150.jpg


October 3, 2019
All original photos taken by me


Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

What cool shots of them allI am glad you included the shot with your fingers they are a lot bigger than I thought they were

have a good weekend

!trdo

Congratulations @tattoodjay, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @violetmed!
@violetmed got 0.37789200 TRDO & @tattoodjay got 0.25192800 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Thank you @tattoodjay, I hope you have had a great weekend also!

Yes very relaxing and quiet just what I needed LOL

My tarantulas would love those guys, but i bet they eat those flowers to turn themselves poisonous somehow.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha, well I’m sure your tarantulas would enjoy them! The caterpillars only eat the leaves. I read that rats and birds will eat them.

Really cool. I have never seen them before. I loo forward for updated picture of the cycle!

I’ll try!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow, those are some large pillars. Will be interesting to see them come out of the chrysalis. Love to see some pictures if you can get them:):):)

I’ll try, but they may not emerge until next spring!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @violetmed!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.862 which ranks you at #4728 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 101 contributions, your post is ranked at #54.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Dang either you have tiny hands or those things are big! Nice nails too, by the way. lol.

Haha, yes @janton I love my sparkly nails also! Yes, these caterpillars are about 2.5 inches long!

Those caterpillars look great and your nails are very photogenic also! lol.

They are so big! How cool is that!

Yes @melinda010100, they are impressive!

I have never seen such a thing! Thanks for sharing these guys.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85