You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Taking the Fart Out of "Jerusalem Fartichokes" Aka Sunroot or Topinambour

in #gardening5 years ago

oh haha ...poor you. This is a truly wonderful post sharing solutions for the one major downside of them. We've been there too and I find this hilarious while also being truly sympathetic.

Sort:  

hehehe it really was quite sad. and it was one of those nights that i woke up around 2 am staring at the moon and stars and just getting inundated with gas while i lay awake... lol it was really horrible and prompted this post! sooo have you found anything that worked? lol, i am totally not giving up on this amazing plant... but help!

ok, well. I don't LOVE them. It's the texture. I hate that watery sort of texture. I don't suffer as badly as everyone else seems to. Perhaps it's because I am a hardcore vegetarian ...since forever .. and eat a lot of different foods that have inulin? I think that is key, eating small amounts and building up a tolerance. A few slices ...you know what I mean?

I had a dog that has perpetual gas and my son was the gassiest kid known to man (haha) so I am pretty tolerant to noxious odours.

I've fed them to people (my parents) pickled and there was no gas ...so I think fermented might be a good way to start.

Keep me informed. We've got them planted everywhere as a "if the world goes to heck" crop but we didn't even harvest any this year because no one wants to eat them boiled or baked or in any manner that risks a repeat ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62258.08
ETH 3157.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78