You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Certified Organic: What's Behind the Label? Is It Good for Small Farms or Consumers? (DTube Daily Vlog)

in #gardening6 years ago

I just love this!

Beyond Organic!

me too! me too! We are absolutely beyond organic.

We looked into obtaining the organic certification in Canada and decided not to. We decided the process is far too costly, not just in money but in time. All of that bureaucracy would just bring a negative energy to the homestead. Who needs all that stress and for what? A certificate for a program that does not even meet my own standards?

I read one small farm account of the organic certification process recently and it has added a lot of stress to their lives but they do make a bigger profit. No idea what percentage increase they have seen but obviously enough for them to suffer through it.

We've just decided to provide plenty of information to the consumer about how our food is grown and build strong relationships. You can't say organic but when you are beyond organic there's a lot you can say that means a whole lot more! (I hope) :)

when I do purchase groceries ... I do go to the farmers market first - always. There is an Amish family that is beyond organic and not certified - I trust them and their honest labelling has inspired me that it is possible to sell our goods without a certification.

In the stores I look for the organic section. After seeing the machines that spray chemicals on the fields ... organic is better than being totally uncertain but I am not fooled in thinking that it is grown to our standards.

Sort:  

how many growers really have the time to sort out all the certs, paperwork etc. that it takes? haha, a certificate that you don't agree with! I get it big time. It's like getting into a club that you're not even that into...

That's great that you know a family, trust is MUCH stronger and more valuable than a centralized label. And there are always times you can't know the grower, and where the label makes sense. Still, I have to side with you on going above and beyond and not paying too much attention to the centralized ideas of "organic" cause we all know they aren't strict enough and limited in scope. Appreciate your input.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.21
ETH 3068.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81