🍅 Tomato & Peppers are in the ground! - WizStead Post #14

in #gardening6 years ago

I must be a positive thinker, as are all gardeners.

  • I spent some time and money planting garden this evening.
    • In hopes of reaping a harvest down the road...

Finally made it by the Amish greenhouse to pick up a few things.
A flat of 4-packs was $15.

  • I picked up 16 tomatoes, 12 peppers and some flowers.
    • Later I picked up 2 Sunsugar cherry tomatoes at Orscheln (our local farm store).
      • I got all the veggies in. Flowers tomorrow.

You might be interested in a couple of unique techniques with the tomatoes.

  • I trench planted them.
    • I used cow panels instead of cages on the indeterminate ones. (These keep growing vines and tomatoes until the weather takes them out.)

IMG_20180508_170517771.jpg

Tomatoes

A 4-pack of each of these varieties

  • Holy Land, Pineapple, Goliath, Carolina Gold
    • Only the Carolina Gold variety is determinate. I put them in homemade cages. Made out of fencing.

Trench planting
Did you know tomatoes will grow roots anywhere the stem is below dirt?

Loosen the dirt and lay the plant on it's side.
IMG_20180508_194534607.jpg

Mound dirt up over the root ball and stem. Leaving a few leaves pointed up.
IMG_20180508_194719486.jpg

Here's another pic of a trench mounted cherry tomato.
IMG_20180508_200252397.jpg
Don't forget to water them in...

Cattle panel trellis
I used 3 t-posts to hold the cattle panel about a foot off the ground.

  • These are 15 foot panels and I spaced 6 tomatoes on each panel.
    • I spaced them about 4 foot apart.

IMG_20180508_203316203.jpg

I put the 2 cherry tomatoes in one cage. since I built pretty big cages.

Peppers

A 4-pack of each: Jalapeno, King Arthur and Hungarian Yellow Wax.
The King Arthurs got put in a standard spaced about 2 foot.

  • The others I used an offset 2 row pattern.

IMG_20180508_203256608.jpg

Is this weed food?

IMG_20180508_200229291.jpg

If they happen to be food, then I could say my garden is off to a GREAT start. These things are popping up everywhere. And growing like... guess what... yup, growing like weeds!

Finished project

Brutus just hasn't been the same since that alien abduction.
I'm guessing maybe that's whatsup with his eyes... haha
IMG_20180508_203336198.jpg
This is looking south, away from the house.

  • First is the cage with the 2 cherry tomatoes.
  • Then the cattle panels with a dozen tomato plants.
  • Then the 4 tomato cages
  • To the right of those are the bell peppers.
  • On past them are the jalapenos and hungarian wax peppers.

Variety links

If you don't recognize some of the varieties I picked, here some links to info...

  • Holy Land
    • Not much info about this one on the web. The Amish gal said a friend of hers from out east, brought back seeds from Israel. ??? Supposed to be a heavy producer of large tomatoes with excellent flavor. My first time with this one. I will let you know if it lives up to its hype.
  • Pineapple
    • 1-2 pounders! woohoo
  • Goliath
    • Should be the first to ripen.
  • Carolina Gold
    • I really like the flavor of yellow tomatoes...
  • Sunsugar
    • The ultimate in cherry tomatoes...

  • King Arthur
    • Bigger than some, but not the biggest. 4x4" These are very good.

My other gardening posts...

Check out

Pull up a chair
Let's chat a bit
I'll get us a glass of sweet tea

Have you ever trench planted tomatoes?
What varieties are your favorites?
How's your dog?
Have you ever used a cow panel for tomatoes?
Give me a link to your latest garden post...
Did you know @knowledge-seeker runs a #homesteadphotography contest?
Did you know @simplymike is running a monthly Gardening Journal contest?

wizsmall.png
Who I am

@WizarDave
Sort:  

We've got our tomatoes in, but I only know the kinds. There's beef, roma, cherry and something called celebrity. I don't think we've ever had them before. Then we have peppers: red, yellow and orange bell peppers, along with jalapeño, serrano and I think one other (it was kind of a blur at the nursery we went to).

I think she plans to get some zucchini, squash, maybe a watermelon. The strawberries are growing and blooming. Hopefully I'll have my own garden post out tomorrow. Not nearly as indepth, though. We're seasoned, but we're not very good at experimenting with new ways of doing things. :)

Well, you know what they say...
Grandpa gotta eat!!!
Sound like Grandpa might be making some homemade salsa in a few months?
I've grown Celebrity. They produced well and had good flavor. Almost sandwich size if I remember correctly...

Oh boy. The whole neighborhood will have zucchini! At least, I always end up with more than we can eat and I don't really like freezing them. Of course, I'm not feeding a family of 5 either... I have shredded and then froze them and they are usable...

I am having to improvise a lot this year. It's been pretty fun.

That's right, Grandpa Gotta Eat. And one of these days, I might get industrious and create a greenhouse so we can maybe start things a little earlier or try to have two growing seasons of certain things instead of one. It hasn't happened yet, but it's definitely in the back of mind somewhere. :)

Okay. Good. We'll expect some good things out of the celebrity tomatoes, then.

Yeah, we always end up with an over abundance, and then I can't ever find them fast enough before they become club size, so that just means there's more of it. We generally make zucchini bread, freeze some shredded, give a bunch away and every once in a while sautée them with butter.

Brutus says just don't bring no 6 inch stove pipe 90's for him to play with anymore. Your lucky you didn't have to hold him down and cut it off with tin snips. I can't wait to trade you out some Figgin apple muffins for monster maters. I'm still experimenting with the blueberry muffins I put little chunks of cream cheese in batch I just put in oven

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-09T04:14:51
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 59.20/100.00
Total Photos: 10
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

• I got the regular tomato cages, they where $1 on clearance 😊
• I have to be choosy when it comes to plants, they have to be quickly growing. About 50-60 day’s to harvest.
• Your doggie is cute. One of my dogs is feeling neglected because of my ducklings and goose. They are taking up her space in the living room.

I mentioned you dog's situation to Brutus. He shook his head and rolled his eyes and told me to tell you to tell your dog. "Wowzer, sorry about that dude. I'm kinda the jealous type and wouldn't like that at all. I feel your pain man!"

Coll trellises you have there.
And beautiful tomato plants. For some strange reason, my seedlings refuse to grow. The biggest one is now like 2 cm in height... :0(

You put them in ground to early or you didn't plant deep enough. They'll grow out of it just wont have maters till Aug 2 instead of july 4th

Thanks. I have put them
In a new pot, planted them deeper and now I can finally see they are growing:0)

팔로우하고 보팅하고가요

According to Google that translates to
Flexible and follow the voting

We apologize for the continued delay of our upvotes. We’re working hard to obtain more SP to keep up with all of our amazing Thunder Supporters. Thank you for your continued patience and support! You are the lightning to our THUNDER!

As a friendly reminder, the upvote fee is $0.08 SBD ($0.081 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.24+ SBD.
Join our 10 SP Challenge!!!

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99