When life gives you cat litter

in #gardening5 years ago

So I have (or, more rightly, my children have) cats. Cats bring with them a variety of items: fur, hairballs, purrs, and, of course, cat litter.

I buy cat litter by the bucket. Big buckets. Heavy buckets. Frankly, really good buckets. I have multiples of these and I really, really hate throwing them out because they really are good buckets: heavy, sturdy, and useful for so many things.

Side note: I also have a yard sitting on a lot of clay. It's very hard to grow anything other than grass unless I dig way, way down and essentially perform a dirt transplant. Yet I like to garden, and I like to grow fruits and vegetables: strawberries and tomatoes are my largest harvest, by far. I'm trying my hand again at pumpkins and watermelons in the back yard in a green house, I have some grape vines growing, herbs are a standard, and this year I'm giving a go at sugar snap peas and cucumbers. The thing is, with all of these, it's hard to go down, so I've decided to go up, or vertical, and to use cat litter buckets as a tool.

The buckets are pretty deep, and getting water through a big bucket full of dirt would be difficult, so I've worked out a poor mans irrigation system with a pvc pipe: A 1.5 inch pvc pipe with holes drilled through it. Putting this pipe in the middle of the bucket allows water to be poured down the pipe and, ergo, through to the plants at the bottom.

20190603_190807.jpg

I've placed that pipe in the middle of a bucket which also has a number of holes drilled through the sides for the plants to grow out of:

20190603_190551.jpg

20190603_192920.jpg

I had already started the cucumber plants by seed and have had some great success with them. Starting at the bottom of the bucket (obviously, because it'd be greatly difficult to start from the top) I filled dirt to the holes, gently placed the plants in place, and then continued filling with dirt until, voila, a vertical planter.

20190603_193244.jpg

20190603_195829.jpg

@solominer, I think I'm interested in your thoughts on this project

Sort:  

Congratulations @wwwiebe! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hahahah recycling all the way , spray it green and it’s a greenhouse hahahah

Haha! I keep joking about building a Roman style triumph Arch with all the plastic bottles we seem to gather.

I might actually take one of the buckets I have and use it to start a composte.

Posted using Partiko Android

@wwwiebe interesting use of cat litter boxes. And the pole for water should work well.. hope those cucumber plants grow big. I like the idea of vertical planters, making use of space otherwise unoccupied.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow this looks like an amazing idea. Great use of a cat litter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87