My Garden Journal May 2021

in #gardenjournal3 years ago

IMG_20210516_184737.jpg
This is the blossom from an onion root that I planted after using its leaves. This is my first time seeing in real life an onion blossom. I am not expecting the throw away roots to grow because we never really care for this part before the pandemic. Now that we have time inside the house, we can do all the things we took for granted for the reason that we are busy.

IMG_20210516_185239.jpg
I have grown four of them over time. They are of different kinds. I have onion leaks and scallions I think that is what we call them. The very first two onion roots that I planted out of our kitchen waste survived for a few days and wilted. I lost my hope maybe I was over watering them so the next time I had a few roots I planted them on the same pot and watered only when the soil is dry. I made sure they are exposed to sunlight. That is what I did differently and I couldn't believe my eyes. Here they are now still green and thriving. Now that they managed to live I now water them daily with enough sunlight still. That is how I learn when I couldn't Google any useful information, I learn by experience. How about you fellow gardeners do you have some tips on how to properly grow onion leaves?

Until next post,
Gus

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61372.29
ETH 2888.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62