Sweet Potato Tops

in #gardenjournal3 years ago

Growing greens in your backyard or indoors is becoming popular again nowadays. It is quite convenient when you can gather some vegetables you grow to prepare a meal. From where I live it is not easy to go outside and buy at the market. One the market place is far, two public transport is limited and three community quarantine.
image.png
Most of the plants I grow are ornamental like how I had shown on my previous posts. It made sense to me to grow vegetables since I am already engaged in gardening so might as well plant something that we can eat. One of those that are easy to grow are these camote tops or the sweet potato tops.
image.png
My first attempt to grow camote tops is a success. I just suspended the sweet potato itself above a glass of water and maybe after 5 days the vines started to appear. This method produces thinner leaves so this time I planted them on a pot with garden soil. See how greener they are. The branches are quite bigger and the leaves too. The pot is small but look how healthy and big these plants are.

How do we eat them? Gather the young tops because they are tender. Wash them thoroughly. You may parboil or steam them and you are good. They go well with a vinegar dip of your choice. For me, I prefer vinegar with a little bit of shrimp paste. A favorite side dish of pinoys paired with something fried like a fish.

image.png
These two lovely flowering plants are going out today. One for my brother who saw me posted them online and the other to my friend. They love the flowers and will be sending them right away. I am happy when people are delighted to see and or have the plants I grow.

Until next post,
Gus

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.32
ETH 2914.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62