You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🌺 September Gardening - It's Definitely Different (Part 1)

How many green tomato's do you have there? I had about 20 red ones and all the rest is not even doing an attempt to change color yet. once they start to turn red it could be worth the gamble to harvest them and then hope they change color while ripening on the windowsil
Or at least a few of them... Still they may all turn red at the same time, and then i don't have enough time to consume them all, hehe

Sort:  

We've been harvesting buckets of ripe tomatoes these last two weeks, but you can see it's taking longer for the last ones to ripe. I still have loads of green ones, because I wasn't capable to make them stop growing tomatoes (still recovering from back surgeries.)

Last year I took the green ones from the plant and put half of them on the windows ill, and the other half in a closed cardboard box with some newspapers at the bottom. Both ways worked perfectly fine.

And if you have too many of them to consume, you can just put them in the freezer. Just put them in there like they are, no cooking or nothing, and if you want to make tomato sauce or soup during winter, you just take them.out and throw them in a pot. Easy peasy :0)

Posted using Partiko Android

i'll give the cardboard box a try as well I just have a massive amount of over production, during the hot days the plants grew but the tomatoes where slow, then the rain came and the tomatoes grew like crazy. :-) next year 60% less tomato plants....

Must be frustrating when recovering form surgeries...

Looking forward to read more on your gardening. Take it easy though!

Thanks. It's frustrating indeed.

And I'm with you on the tomato plants: I definitely do not need 18 plants when there's just the two of us, lol

LOL

I discovered an additional issue, I have Cherry tomatoes and boring waterbombs. And the bumblebees cross pollinated them. So if i now discover better taste then i need to save a few seeds, and the ones that taste bad i also need to keep awat from the compost heap to be sure that those seeds do not make it into the next year....

It would be great if you were able to create a new variety :0)

I just which tomatos would smell like tomato again, like in he 80's
The cherry tomato's smell good but compared to the 80's it is merely a whisper

I must admit I never smelled tomatoes back in the eighties. Now I think of it, I never smell them now either, lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62025.59
ETH 3074.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84