You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: From the Gardens of Que Sera, Sera and Beyond...June 2018

Thanks for allowing me to have a peek in your garden, @mamajeanie. I love how you let nature goes its way by planting the different veggies together.
I’m actually a little jealous because you have the ‘three sisters’... I tried sowing corn this year, but it didn’t work - so I have only two sisters ;0)

I can’t imagine what it’s like to have such hot weather in June. Nor in July or August, for all that matters. Must be a farmer’s nightmare. Do you have a lot of rain? I guess not - it’s Texas, right?!

We just had the warmest month of May since 1830, here in Belgium. We had 20 days with a temperature of 20 degrees C (68F) or higher, and a max of 28C (83F) on one day, and that was really hot for our climate. Normally, we get those temperatures during mid summer.
Fortunately, we had lots of rain in the evenings, so it was almost perfect for the veggies: you could literally see them grow.

Is it possible to grow veggies in mid-summer over there? I mean, if it’s 100F (37C) in June, it must be smoking hot in July and August...

Sort:  

Well, our weather is a challenge, as is the soil here. Everything has to be amended and sped up to make up for the fast moving growing season. We had our rainy spell , now it's drought time with near 100's. There's a storm coming up from the Gulf of Mexico, though, which is supposed to be bringing some cooler days and some rain. After June, I can still get some hardy tomatoes, but the heat does affect the texture of the fruit. Peppers don't mind the heat. Rosemary, oregano and basil do okay...I'll see how the sage does this year. I've never had much luck getting it to stick around; this is the first success I've had with it. The parsley seems ok, too. The season is almost over, for a bit. We'll do a second planting theoretically aimed at fruits being harvested about the time when the weather starts to cool off (hahaha!) a bit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59740.56
ETH 3011.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79