Garden Journal Challenge for April 2019 "Preparing Raised Beds" by Sunscape

in #gardenjournal20195 years ago (edited)

IMG_9197(1).jpg


It is time to top-dress the raised beds to prepare for planting soon. Here I have added shredded egg cartons, a couple buckets of horse manure that is two years old and then we put down a layer of peat moss. I still have to add a layer composted leaves that are available from our town hall. We just have to take the trailer and shovel some on. Woohoo!


IMG_9192(1).jpg


IMG_9212(1).jpg


IMG_1382.jpg


IMG_1036.jpg


The hoops are on and the bed is ready to be planted in a couple weeks. I want the soil to do a little blending of nutrients before I put the plugs in. April in N.Y can be very wet and a bit cold, so I do use a cold frame method to let the seedlings get a good start. I hope you enjoyed the post on my progress.

Thank you to @simplymike's Community Garden Journal Challenge for 2019 inspiring us to post our gardening efforts.



Until next time, this is Sunscape...

Sun. Scape. Ing your day

@sunscape
Website
Homesteaders Co-op - Sunscapes Soap Shop
Etsy Store - Crystal Vibrations
Etsy Store - Sunscapes Soap Shop

Sort:  

Soon you can plant beautiful plants. Happy Sunday dear wanda😊🌼

It is almost time to plant and then all the beautiful flowers and veggies will come.

That will be great. I know how much you love plants and garden time. By the way how have you felt?

I am doing much better and getting stronger every day and the pain is much less now. Thank you for asking.

It makes me very happy to know that you are much better

I can't get enough of your gardening tips :-)

That is sweet of you to say Mr. Mike!

Congratulations @sunscape! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60463.70
ETH 2889.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59